Whats does a RAID do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2003, 12:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 32
Default Whats does a RAID do?

I notice new motherboards are being built with a RAID port or slot on the baord i was wondering what is its purpose and how does it work?
__________________

cammm14 is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 01:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Here is a very high-leveled description. http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/R/RAID.html

Different RAID levels perform in different ways. It's basically a way to increase performance, data recovery, data redundancy and data integrity by implementing a level of RAID for 2 or more alike hard drives.
There are many different RAID levels. There's RAID 0, 1, 0+1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 53. All of these levels require a different amount of drives and perform in very different ways.
I'll find another site that explains it a little better and post it here.

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-28-2003, 02:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

This site is one of the best that I've seen:

http://www.acnc.com/raid.html

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.