Whats the difference between 4x and 8x video cards? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 10:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
Exclamation Whats the difference between 4x and 8x video cards?

Im wondering what the difference is between 4x and 8x apg video cards? Im running an e-Machines and i beleve it has a 4x apg slot. Could i put an 8x card in it?
__________________

4-D Racing is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

This is termed as AGP throughput. AGP 4X has throughput of (I remeber) 1.07 GB/s, where as in 8X (as its double) theorotically the throughput is as well doubled to 2.1GB/s, but you will not find any difference so far. but I think new PCI-X will surely make difference.

as far as your Mobo is concerned, I am very sorry to say that YES, your motherboard will run an AGP 8X card without any problem (sorry as now your dad has to pay for your AGP 8X card, ), unless until you are paying for your own (No Offence)

for extra information:

Throughputs since AGP standard is in:

1X = 266MB/s
2X = 533MB/s
4X = 1.07GB/s
8X = 2.14GB/s
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default

God, no wonder your name is blind arrow, you're as blind as hell. NO!!! You WON'T be able to run an 8x AGP card on a 4x AGP slot. You must have a motherboard with an 8x slot to run it. This is due to a higher data transfer by the 8x card that the board won't be able to handle.

Also, YES you will be able to tell the difference between the 8x and the 4x. The 8x will process twice as fast as the 4x allowing games or what ever to appear smoother and allowing you to have higher video settings in games.
darkknight206 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

yes u can run AGP8X card on AGP 4X slot.

want to bet on it? every AGP 8X card is backward compatible with AGP4X slot.
this is for your clearence, read clearly the requirements for the ATi card that I am using:

http://www.ati.com/products/radeon98...pro/specs.html

its clearly written that it can run on 8X or 4X. and thats for sure, now take your words back. (No Offence)
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Ya, i know it's backward compatible but the card is only gonna be running at 4x.
darkknight206 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

wont bring any difference in speed, I have tested almost every major motherboard and every card out of ATi and nVidia. why are you recommending him changing his motherboard at the same time, he can buy 8X card now, use it, and then upgrade mobo in future.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default

I never recommended for him to buy a new mobo. I'm just saying that i think it would be a waste of money to buy a 8x card and not even run it at 8x. For me personally if I were in his situation I would blow up that e-machine, and start from scratch. He is gonna have a hard time finding a new mobo that will fit in the case anyways. I had a e-machine and their cases are tiny. Whatever, it's all up to him.
darkknight206 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 10:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

u see, he just asked a simple question, if he can run AGP8X card into his AGP4X slot. I have sold out 250+ ATI cards, and 30% of my users were on AGP4X.

anyway, never point out one's nick in open forum. as you are new, so its OK. you'll never see anyone doing that, regardless of whatever level they have. (again no offence), Be Friendly all the time! Life is short
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default

The way you said it made it sound like that he could run his card at 8x when his board could only run it at 4x. Sorry if i confused you or whatever.
darkknight206 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Guys,guys.......come on now. We are all supposed to help eachother here. that is why forums are for. Thankyou for your help. There isnt a major price difference on videocards. but i dont like the idea of extra performance going to waste. so i may get a new case and videocard. than maybe a mobo.
__________________

4-D Racing is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.