Whats the Difference - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2005, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Arrow Whats the Difference

Whats the difference between these two Amd Athlon 64's?

3400+ at 2.4g = $219.00 @ newegg.com
3500+ at 2.2g = $267.00 @ newegg.com

why pay more money for the 3500+ if its 200 megs slower?

Coconut.....
__________________

__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

the 3400 is a clawhammer, it has 1mb cache, the 3500 has 512.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Yeah. Better core is worth the difference.

On an AMD, you don't go by the GHz, anyway. The numbers show what it is equal to.
3400 > = Intel 3.4GHz
3500 > = Intel 3.5GHz
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

differnt cores and differnt L2 cache
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

ya, if u dont get all this technical stuff, the numbers pretty much tell ya, lol.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 09:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Cool...
__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Yeah. Better core is worth the difference.

On an AMD, you don't go by the GHz, anyway. The numbers show what it is equal to.
3400 > = Intel 3.4GHz
3500 > = Intel 3.5GHz
The 3400 is socket 753 in this example which is an old socket and slower, and lacks dual channel ram.

However, if you find a SOCKET 939 3400+, it exactly the same as another newcastle SOCKET 939 3500+. This is my own deduction after hours of reasearch, feel free to test it.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I dont think there are any socket 939 3400's
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Can someone tell me what the hell an Athlon 64 3300+ is, I've seen in advertised by Best Buy dozens of times now and I wasn't even aware such a thing existed.

They're pretty much right, the Newcastle/Winchester Architechture found in the 3500+ in superior to the Clawhammer achitechture of the 3400+. I don't even know the details very well, but I'm sure someone trying to explain it wouldn't really help the situation either. :P
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 11:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Ok now I understand the speeds of the 64's. But there are 3 different cores for the 3500+.

Newcastle
Clawhammer
Winchester

whats the differnce between each core?

Coconut....
__________________

__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.