Whats the best vid card for the $ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2004, 10:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 150
Default Whats the best vid card for the $

on a budget whats the best vid card i can get for 150$? also would this vid card be complete trash lol?
__________________

mcnairgunz09 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 10:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

Well, I'm getting ATI's X300SE from Crucial.com, but thats just me.
__________________

__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 10:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 150
Default

how much?
mcnairgunz09 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Default

ATI all-in-wonder 9200 directx 9.0 compatible last time i checked it was around 150... but that was few months ago
i think the graphics are decent on em
__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 183
Default

ATi is the budget solution for sure, I know many people with various ATi cards and mostly they have no complaints. I opt for the nVidia series, as I feel I get better performance out of that than I would with an ATi on my system.

~Fawks
Red Fox is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

The GeForce 6200 totally smashes the X300SE.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KnowNothing
Well, I'm getting ATI's X300SE from Crucial.com, but thats just me.

umm isn't the X300SE PCI-EXPRESS? PCI-Expess mobos usually run pretty expensive GO ATI! Good Luck
__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 332
Send a message via ICQ to gizmo90
Default

here r som ideas
ATI Radeon 9600 (128MB)

ATI Radeon 9600XT (128MB)

I would post more but have to get some sleep!

good luck
__________________
Want a Gmail invitation?? Email me at gizmo90@gmail.com

Funny or Stupid Videos...u choose!
gizmo90 is offline  
Old 12-20-2004, 11:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

Dont get any SE video cards, and te 9200 graphics suck.
chog is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 05:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the Geforce FX5200 is pretty good for the money, it runs Doom 3 reasonably well

I would get anything from an FX5200 to this Radeon 9800
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.