Whats Best ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2005, 07:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Whats Best ?

What's best.... 2 x 512mb pc3200 DDR ram or 4x 512mb pc2700 DDR ram ?

Click HERE and click on the configure button, 3rd option down u get the choice 2 x 512mb pc3200 DDR ram or 4x 512mb pc2700 DDR ram.

Help me decide please.

Thanks.
__________________

coco777 is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

go with the 3200 because thats the fastest for amd right now. You really dont need 2 gigs thought right now 1 gig is just fine. Later when prgrams are much more taxing go and add some more.
definitly 3200
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Yes i agree go with the 3200 sticks 1gig is just fine not many apps that use more then 1gig of mem anyways
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks guys.

I had already made my order which was for the 2gig 2700.
But ive just called and cancelled the upgrade, so im now back to 1gig at 3200.
Cheers for the help.
coco777 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

I had a similar question, and everyone told me the 3200.
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

thats weird that they would offer that. PC2700 actually runs more expensive than the 3200 in my area. I can get a stick of 512 mb PC3200 400 mhz for $25 after rebates, I can get a stick of 256 mb PC2700 333 mhz for $50. Go figure. (At Fry's Electronics)
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496
Default

Heyyo,

Well, the pc2700 ram sticks are more expensive cause they tend to use more expensive chips I bet. pc3200 seems to be much more efficient, thus the lowered prices.

Anywho, yeah, if you ever needed more ram, you could always just buy another stick of 512MB or a stick of 1GB of PC3200 ram.
__________________
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

yeah, they move a lot more of the product with PC 3200, thereby lowering prices. PC 2700 is only purchased from a select few whose motherboards support only up to 333 mhz.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.