What are your system specs? - Page 98 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2010, 04:12 PM   #971 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: What are your system specs?

You need a new desk.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 05:18 PM   #972 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: What are your system specs?

I need one two, my dual 22" monitors take up all the width. I want more space...:[
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 05:20 PM   #973 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
You need a new desk.
Yeah, I do, but I hate to buy another meh desk like the corner one I already have and I never seem to have enough money to get a really nice one.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 05:25 PM   #974 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: What are your system specs?

^^Craigstlist ftw. When I lived in the states I always got desks and stuff like that from craigslist. Never couches or beds though. Never.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 08:01 PM   #975 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I'll probably be getting a Thuban CPU when they come out (~2 weeks or so)
So that would mean I'll have a Phenom II 940 and 965 unused.

Maybe one could go to Vernon and one to Trotter.
Heck even a Phenom 9600 would be sufficient for me, I checked my game FPS with Xfire, and I'm finding that I'm severely lagging in game (BFBC2), part of the reason I'm getting pwned. I got the tactical stuff down though.

I'm guessing the Havok engine is really pwning my dual-core and HD 3850 512MB (at 1440x900 @ low), so I guess I just need a decent Quad-core and a slightly newer GPU and I'd be set.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 08:08 PM   #976 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Heck even a Phenom 9600 would be sufficient for me, I checked my game FPS with Xfire, and I'm finding that I'm severely lagging in game (BFBC2), part of the reason I'm getting pwned. I got the tactical stuff down though.

I'm guessing the Havok engine is really pwning my dual-core and HD 3850 512MB (at 1440x900 @ low), so I guess I just need a decent Quad-core and a slightly newer GPU and I'd be set.
The 3850 is probably whats holding you back. My brother is running BFBC2 at 1440x900 with high setting on a X2 5200+ and HD 4850 with very playable fps.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 08:24 PM   #977 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
The 3850 is probably whats holding you back. My brother is running BFBC2 at 1440x900 with high setting on a X2 5200+ and HD 4850 with very playable fps.
I play on a 5200, and 4870, and have a hard time with 1280x720. For some reason I think my current configuration is screwed. I'm havin' a difficult time keepin' 25fps. I had 40+ with mine and high settings not too long ago... Not sure what's up.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 09:00 AM   #978 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95BlackGA View Post
I play on a 5200, and 4870, and have a hard time with 1280x720. For some reason I think my current configuration is screwed. I'm havin' a difficult time keepin' 25fps. I had 40+ with mine and high settings not too long ago... Not sure what's up.
That is very very weird. Do you have HBAO turned off in the settings?
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 11:32 PM   #979 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Heck even a Phenom 9600 would be sufficient for me, I checked my game FPS with Xfire, and I'm finding that I'm severely lagging in game (BFBC2), part of the reason I'm getting pwned. I got the tactical stuff down though.

I'm guessing the Havok engine is really pwning my dual-core and HD 3850 512MB (at 1440x900 @ low), so I guess I just need a decent Quad-core and a slightly newer GPU and I'd be set.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
The 3850 is probably whats holding you back. My brother is running BFBC2 at 1440x900 with high setting on a X2 5200+ and HD 4850 with very playable fps.
I have a spare 4870 here aswell
__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 03:36 AM   #980 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by james.wired View Post
That is very very weird. Do you have HBAO turned off in the settings?
I've turned everything down (off), turned everything up. Graphic settings do not seem to change the game at all. I know the 5200+ can play this game at decent settings, even at stock. I'm just at a loss.
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.