What are your system specs? - Page 84 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2009, 01:51 PM   #831 (permalink)
True Techie
 
PH3N0M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Current system specs:

Microsoft Vista Home Premium x86
nForce4 590i SLI Intel Edition
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700 @ 3.2ghz
4gb DDR2-667
(2) - 80gb Raptors in Raid0 (10,000rpm/ea)
(2) - 320gb Caviars in Raid0 (7,200rpm/ea)
(2) - XFX Black Edition GTX 285's in SLI
Creative X-FI XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro
HP w2408h 24" lcd @1920x1200
Logitech G15 keyboard (blue)
Logitech G5 mouse (blue)
Logitech G51 5.1 surround setup


Soon to be:

Vista x64
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 @ 3.67ghz
1K Power Supply
Nvidia 790i Tri-SLI Motherboard
8GB DDR3-1333MHz
(2) - 16X DVDRW/ CDRW Drive
(3) - 150gb Raptors in Raid0+1
(1) - WD Caviar 1tb for storage
(3) - XFX Black Edition GTX 285s in SLI
Creative X-FI Titanium
HP w2408h 24" lcd @1920x1200
Logitech G19 keyboard
Logitech G5 mouse (blue)
Logitech G51 5.1 surround setup
__________________

PH3N0M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 11:29 AM   #832 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Atech66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Case RaidMAx Sagitta
PSU Corsair TX750
CPU Core i7 920
GPU GTX 260 core 216
Mobo MSI X58 Platinum X-fire/SLI
RAM 6 Gigs Mushkin E 1333
HDD Samsung HD501LJ SATA 2
Dual DVD drives Lite on and Superwritemaster
stock cooling and it idles @ 38c-40c Max about 55-60c
12 in 1 media card reader
Onboard sound Realtek I am half deaf from the military quality doesn't mean much to me.
thats about it.
Vista home premium 64
heh some this is in my sig ah well.
__________________

__________________
http://www.forum-signatures.com/wiza...3454627674.gif

Core i7 920, MSI X58 Plat. SLI, 6 Gigs Mushkin 1333,
Corsair TX750, Samsung Sata 2 500, VISTA 64 :cool:

UNIVAC: a device, which contained 20,000 vacuum tubes, occupied 1,500 square feet and weighed 40 tons; there was also a laptop version weighing 27 tons.
Atech66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 10:01 PM   #833 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PH3N0M View Post
Current system specs:

Microsoft Vista Home Premium x86
nForce4 590i SLI Intel Edition
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700 @ 3.2ghz
4gb DDR2-667
(2) - 80gb Raptors in Raid0 (10,000rpm/ea)
(2) - 320gb Caviars in Raid0 (7,200rpm/ea)
(2) - XFX Black Edition GTX 285's in SLI
Creative X-FI XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro
HP w2408h 24" lcd @1920x1200
Logitech G15 keyboard (blue)
Logitech G5 mouse (blue)
Logitech G51 5.1 surround setup


Soon to be:

Vista x64
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX9770 @ 3.67ghz
1K Power Supply
Nvidia 790i Tri-SLI Motherboard
8GB DDR3-1333MHz
(2) - 16X DVDRW/ CDRW Drive
(3) - 150gb Raptors in Raid0+1
(1) - WD Caviar 1tb for storage
(3) - XFX Black Edition GTX 285s in SLI
Creative X-FI Titanium
HP w2408h 24" lcd @1920x1200
Logitech G19 keyboard
Logitech G5 mouse (blue)
Logitech G51 5.1 surround setup
Honestly I feel kind of sorry for you. The 7 series are overpriced and unreliable.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 10:13 PM   #834 (permalink)
True Techie
 
PH3N0M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 116
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Don't feel sorry for me. It runs smoothly and with no problems whatsoever.
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 RC-7100, Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.67ghz, 6gb Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600, (4) - 150gb WD Raptor X's, (2) - XFX Black Edition GTX 285's in SLI, Creative X-FI Titanium, Dell 3007WFP-HC @ 2560x1600, Loitech G19, Logitech G5, Logitech G51, Logitech G35
PH3N0M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 10:10 AM   #835 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: What are your system specs?

8GB RAM club woot woot

Asus P5Q Pro
Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz w/ Sun Beam Core Contact Freezer

8GB G. Skill Pi Black @ 1000Mhz 5-5-4-15 w/ just 1.9v
8800GS
OCZ Gamexstream 600W
Lian Li PC-7FW
couple western digital drives
Samsung 226BW


I must say, HD 4850 to 8800GS is quite the downgrade..... I can definitely see the difference
Fat.Clown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 11:12 AM   #836 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Why would you downgrade to that?

Its like going from a 9800GTX+ to that card (but more because the 9800GTX+ is slightly slower) see the difference yet?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 02:21 PM   #837 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: What are your system specs?

Why 8 gigs of ram? There is absolutely no benefit to 8 gigs of ram. I have 4 gigs and the performance difference over 2 gigs was small.

You would be better off spending money on an SSD.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 02:46 PM   #838 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: What are your system specs?

already purchased
can't do nothing now
turned off paging file all together


SSD still seems to be evolving at a very fast pace (larger capacity, problem with Jmicron MLC controller?, and possible TRIM command not supported)
so I don't intend to purchase a SSD just of yet

?- fixed?
Fat.Clown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 04:47 PM   #839 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: What are your system specs?

I have 0 page file with 4 gigs. Trust me, even with Crysis, firefox and iTunes my ram is far from full.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 08:53 PM   #840 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: What are your system specs?

It means you can have a lot of programs open at once, and still have the system handling it well. Including virtual machines, with no paging file.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.