What are your system specs? - Page 14 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2005, 02:43 PM   #131 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19

Both sticks are PC2700. I know what latency is, and my CPU-Z says that one has 2.0 and another has 2.5. I understand the relevance, but not the reason. if i'm clogging this thread with a space consuming conversation, please let me know.

Ravenhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 01:19 PM   #132 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Spartan's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814

My new system...

2 Gig OCZ Ram
dual nVidia 7800GTXs
Asus Premium SLI mobo
Audigy Platinum Sound Card
650 watt SLI PSU
2 300GB Drives (raid 0)
DVD burner
20" LCD
Klipsch Ultra Promedia Speakers
Thermaltake Shark Tower

and to top if off...Verizon FIOS (20000/5000)

cost me around $4000 to build

Spartan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 02:59 PM   #133 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496

Originally posted by Ravenhart
Hello all; obviously, i'm new here.
Down to buisness:

I'm looking for advice on upgrades that will allow me to play more recent games; HL2 works fine on mostly high settings, but BF2 refuses to work; thus, i beleive i'm starting to fall behind.

Since you're new? welcome to Tech-Fourms eh?

Anywho, this ain't your fault, it's DICE's. BF2 suffers from lack of compatibility with a lot of vidcards. If you cheir their official list, it's pretty much "have a ATI Radeon 9000 and up, or an x200 and up, or a geforce fx and up, or a geforce 6000 and up or you can't play the game." So it's a kick in the teeth eh?

All you really need is a new vidcard. There's a lot out there. the 6600GT is a forum favorite, but if you wanna save a few bucks the ati radeon 9800 pro's pretty good too. the 9800 pro's more of a budget vidcard between those 2, but it'll play games like bf2 very nicely.

If those are too expensive? a ATI Radeon 9600 Pro or an Geforce FX5700 (not LE, they suck) will also play the game.

If you have a big-big budget (ya lucky rich buggers, lol) you could always get a Geforce 6800GT (I would also say the ATI Radeon x850 series are good too.. but they're overpriced.. dangit ATI, what happened to ya? you crapped out on your PCIE lineup...).
Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 06:49 PM   #134 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700

ASUS A8N-SLI Premium Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard

Western Digital Caviar SE WD3000JB 300GB 7200 RPM IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive

Antec PERFORMANCE TX TX1050B Black Steel Server Computer Case 500W ATX12V v2.0 Power Supply

eVGA 256-P2-N538-AX With Battlefield 2 Bundle Geforce 7800GTX 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card

CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model Twinx2048-3200c2pt

AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3500BPBOX
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2005, 10:26 AM   #135 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 25

CPU: Intel Pentium 4, 800 FSB, Hyper-Threaded, 3.2 Ghz
MOBO: Dell Intergraded Dimension 8300
HDD(s): 120g SATA, 80g SATA, 80g IDE, 40g IDE.
CD/DVD: 6in1 DVD Writer (DVD+R, DVD-R, DVD+RW, etc...), 24x DVD.
VIDEO: Ati 9800 Pro, 128mb
RAM: 4x512mb PC3200 Crucial Memory Chips, in parity mode for 800FSB.
OS: Windows Media Center 2005
madmunki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 08:29 AM   #136 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 107

serious question here cuz i just wondered, so dont like flame me or anything.

but why would people care what others pc specs are? i mean i dont get the point really...to feel envy/brag or what?
and if its bragging rights on your hard work and money thats fine but why would someone else care especially since they cant see it in action?
solaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 09:26 AM   #137 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Good question.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 12:29 PM   #138 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default Re: What are your system specs?


Originally posted by beedubaya
Since a majority of people no longer have their system specs in their sig, I have decided to start this thread and make it a sticky. The reason is because people are talking about things such as game performance and I have no idea what their system specs are. Ill start with mine.

Thermaltake Xaser III Case
Asus K8V Deluve motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Socket 754 Clawhammer
ATI Radeon X800 Pro (uhg!)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Sound Card
Maxtor 160GB ATA-133 hard drive
Samsung Syncmaster 997DF .20mm dot pitch flat screen CRT
Logitech z5300e 5.1 surround sound system
P4 3.2
vaderpro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 12:51 PM   #139 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to cstude

<ul>[*]ThermalTake Xaser III[*]ASUS P5GDC Deluxe420 PSU[*]MSI RX800PRO-TD256E Radeon X800PRO 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express[*]P4 530 Prescott 800MHz FSB LGA 775 Processor[*]Mushkin PC2-4200 DDR2 Matched Dual-Pack 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533[*]Maxtor DiamondMax 10 6B200M0 200GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150[*]Antec TruPower 420[*]Benq 19" LCD FP937s[/list]
cstude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 02:49 PM   #140 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 496


Another good reason is to see what kindof system specs others have. Ya know? so if you're buying a comp, and you see like, 10 people or more on this forum using a certain cpu like an AMD Athlon64 3200+ venice core, and they are plenty happy, don't you think you'd feel like you're getting quality parts?

Soon I'm gonna be getting a 6600gt. A rare one, it's an apollo 6600gt. Pretty interesting look onnit, looks like an old gf4 ti series vidcard, but it ain't. I've seen pics and how it preforms, looks plenty good to me.

that's a review, card looks like it comes with some good stuff, just need to put on some decent thermal paste is all really. One thing I like about this review is it shows some OCing mixed in. Note how much more a prefromance gain is with ocing the cpu over the vidcard, interesting stuff eh?

Later-A-Much, and LONG LIVE THE D!
æ ThE_MarÐ
ThE_MarD is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.