What was your first computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 10:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kadahaf
133mhz
32 meg ram
12 gb hd!!!
windows 3.1 then 95
Your first PC had windows 3.1 and a 12gb hard drive??? :shocked:
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 10:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Compaq Pesario
133mhz
128 meg ram
2 gb hd
windows 95
__________________

__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 11:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Your first PC had windows 3.1 and a 12gb hard drive??? :shocked:
More likely he meant 1.2GB. That was a popular size for back then.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 11:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 118
Send a message via AIM to regnak
Default

The first PC i REMEMBER was
PI 333mhz
Diamond Video card
8gb hd
Win 98
and probably like 64mb ram (I dont know for ram)
regnak is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 11:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

How about an Atari 600. Not to date myself.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 11:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

Here are the specs. Think it would run HL2?

NAME 600 / 800 XL
MANUFACTURER Atari
TYPE Home Computer
ORIGIN U.S.A.
YEAR 1982
END OF PRODUCTION January 85
BUILT IN LANGUAGE Atari Basic
KEYBOARD Mechanical keyboard
CPU MOS 6502C
SPEED 1.79 (NTSC) / 1.77 (PAL) MHz
COPROCESSOR GTIA (video), POKEY (sound, I/O), ANTIC (video)
RAM 16 KB (600 XL up to 48 KB) / 64 KB (800 XL, expandable to 128 KB)
ROM 24 KB
TEXT MODES five text modes, max: 40 x 24, min: 20 x 12
GRAPHIC MODES 16 graphic modes, maximum : 320 x 192
COLORS 256 (16 colors with 16 intensities)
SOUND 4 voices, 3.5 octaves
I/O PORTS Composite video output, cartridge slot, peripheral port (SIO), parallel bus, 2 joystick plugs
POWER SUPPLY External power supply unit
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 11:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Sure, just gut it and put in some x86 parts!

(Don't do that, it would be blasphemy...)
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 11:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

PI-166mmx oc'd to 200
s3 video card with like 2mb of ram
32mb of edo ram later upgraded to 64mb
realtek ethernet card
sb16 sound
2gb hdd
pioneer 4xCD-ROM
win95c later upgraded to 98se

the point about 12gb hdd....must have been 1.2gb, windows 3.1 wouldnt support a 12gb......hell win95 wouldnt support partitions larger than 2gb would it?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 12:40 AM   #19 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I remember reading somewhere that 95 cannot handle anything over 4.2GB...
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 12:45 AM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
More likely he meant 1.2GB. That was a popular size for back then.
yea lol forgot decimal

I also had a 8meg video card of somesort in it (got it later on)
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.