What was your first computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2007, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
saladfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default What was your first computer?

*Shrug*

Mine was a pentium 100mhz with an 8-ish gig hdd and a whopping 64 mb of ram.

It came with a 15 inch crt (still in use today :]) and played asteroids like none othe :P.
__________________

saladfork is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What was your first computer?

I forgot: pentium 1 and amd k6, 500mb hd and 16 mb ram
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 06:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: What was your first computer?

Some stupid old mac.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 07:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: What was your first computer?

My first computer was a Compaq. I can't remember what processor it had, but it had a 2GB hard drive (If I remember correctly). It also had 64 MB of RAM. It had Windows 95, but was upgraded to 98. It still works as of this day! (I gave it to a friend who didn't have a computer, though)

I can still remember the day when I used to use it. We had dial up then. Man, I'm soooo glad I have faster internet now...
Flame Hawk is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: What was your first computer?

My dad used Windows 3.1x.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 10:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: What was your first computer?

Dont remember exactly but it had a 66MHz processor, and it took over a minite to render one word of wordart. lol.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: What was your first computer?

The first computer I used was a 4.77Mhz IBM clone with a 20MB HD (MS-DOS) - I only played a game on it when I was four.
turtile is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 11:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: What was your first computer?

i had a 36MHz Compaq back in 95. it had 10MB of harddrive and 1KB of memory. it ran windows 3.1. i had the internet on a 14.4k modem
mgcook is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 11:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: What was your first computer?

It was a Quantex (never heard of it), pentium 2 (clock speed no idea) liek a 2gb hdd maybe, 32mb ram and windows 98 (we upgraded from 95) and i 12 inch crt i believe which was thrown away maybe 6 months ago, before i was into computers (wish i kept it), and good ol' 56k dial up, it was used until 2003 as a primary house computer (LOL)
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 08-25-2007, 11:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: What was your first computer?

My first computer was a spectrum. You had to load the programs with a tape. Once you reset it you lost all data in it. Next I had a 386, don't remember the clock speed though, used to play warcraft, civilization in it, golden axe. Good times.
__________________

farinha is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Gaming computer with home theater? Pepsiboy700 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-13-2007 09:02 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.