What would i need... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-18-2005, 03:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default What would i need...

I recently got myself a 2005fpw (http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/p...s=19&c=us&l=en)

i was wondering what i would need to watch TV on it (good quality TV)

btw i have adelphia cable TV in case that matters

can i just run cable line --> TV box (the channel changing thingy ) --> computer?

if so, what would i need (not too expensive or anything though) and how good would the quality be?

can i just run it straight to my gfx card? (it has s-video and VI/VO)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 11:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

tv tuner card.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 12:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Like Shawn briefly and undescriptively mentioned, a TV Tuner card will let you capture and view tv on your computer.

It plugs into your PCI slot, or you can get some that connect via USB. Here's one from ATi:
http://www.ati.com/products/tvwonder...ote/index.html
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

go with an All-In-Wonder ATI card. they work wonders for TV. and go with either the AIW 9800 or AIWX800
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 01:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I have the NVidia personal cinema with the FX5600 256mb card in it. Pretty decent. I cant really game on it, but I'm not into gaming. It's cool, has a full function remote and a break out box with RCA in/out on it.

As for S video, that is usually just an out so you can use a TV for your monitor. But if it's in, then yes, you could use that for watching TV on your comptuer. Thats why it is there.
Him is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 03:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Get a TV tuner card. ATI makes the best ones IMO.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 01:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

but the ATi ones can't work with nvidia cards?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 01:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

i have a ati AIW 7200 in my gateway

woot!!!! freebie
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 06-09-2005, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Hey, if it was free...
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.