what is this wire - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2004, 05:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default what is this wire

hi just got a new case with pretty lights and stuff on it and ive come across two wires not sure what they are, the first one is called an rsfr tube and the second one i got with the case is a strange little round object with two wires going to a small black plug anyone know what these are pls cheers
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 05:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

perhaps the "strange little round object with two wires going to a small black plug" is some sort of speaker, can you post a screenshot?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

no i think ive figured out what that is for now i have a temp gauge on the front of case and i think its to measure temp for this but im still not sure what the other thing is
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

I'd like to ask a similar queation...
My case has a front x2 USB ports and an extra serial connector down at the bottom. The problem is that I have NO clue as to where they plug into on my mobo (listed below), do you guys have any ideas? thanks
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

ur thing with black thing, is it real thin? if so its the sensur prob, it goes onto processor, if its a big black lil thing, then its an audio cable u plug to ur cdplayer or dvd player in the pc to the sound card, to u can listen to the music from cds
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

actually,there are three medium sized grey wires that split off into several wires with little black plugs at the end labled one of the following:
two of the wires end plugs are:
1 or 2 GROUND
1 or 2 +D
1 or 2 -D
1 or 2 +VCC
the other wires plugs are:
MIC IN
MIC BIAS
GROUND
SPKOUT L
SPKOUT R
RETURN L
RETURN R

Now I know that the latter ones are for a speaker or somethong; I just need to know where on the mobo they all go.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

it should be written on yer mobo
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

What names of places to plug 'em in am I looking for?
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

probably the same as the labels, but im not sure on newer boards

sorry
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 06:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

hmmmmm....ok, thanx anyways
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.