What will Intel do when...... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2005, 07:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
macdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813
Default

a lotta people are already confused with the dual cores, they're like, how come this one is 2.8 Pentium D is more expensive than the 3.4 GHZ processor?
__________________

macdawg is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 09:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Intel is smart enough to have marketing, unlike AMD.

AMD has the second worst marketing I know of.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 10:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I say they set up a bunch of bench mark programs and get the speed that the processor can perform at like boot time, file copying time, rendering time, etc. And combine that to come up with a number like pentium X1000 or something. Smaller number but the X makes it sound cool
Don't see that happening though. They will probably just do something similar to AMD or make more use of their number system.
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 11:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Just use "INSTRUCTIONS per second" convention. Pretty much everyone in engineering circles use this. Might as well introduce it to the general public as well.

Shouldn't be too much effort if you just give this convention more exposure.
Chankama is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 11:12 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default Re: What will Intel do when......

Quote:
Originally posted by pc_boy
Ok, since you all know it's the end of "the gigahertz war", and both Intel is gonna start focusing more on architecture than frequency (eg. 3.8GHZ intel is crap, and the 2.8 and 3.2GHZ are outperforming it) I wonder how are they gonna convince the ppl, who are still looking at "GHZ", that "this chip is better than that". AMD is alredy naming them 3200+ for example, but what's intel gonna do?
Uhh because dumb people at retail stores convince everyone to get faster GHZ because it costs more and the store needs more money and they know everything about everything.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 11:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

i have a question for u guyz what does the 3200+ mean can anyone tell me that?
Intel has been around much longer and been much much more succesful i think theyll be able to come up with something
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 11:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by timmer
i have a question for u guyz what does the 3200+ mean can anyone tell me that?
That means, that the processor is equivalent to Intel's 3.2 GHz processor.

I think Intel will come up with a new scheme, because look at their marketing. I'm sure they have a bunch of people at their headquarters or some other place thinking of the same thing, or they may already have decided what they're going to do, they're just waiting for the right time to implement it.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 11:53 AM   #18 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Who cares if the stupid uninformed people still buy processors based on GHz? As long as we don't who gives a rats ***? Let them screw themselves over. Remember, if people stop buying intel because they think they are getting slower, they might buy AMD! And since apple is converting to intel, that will discourage them from buying apple as well, so they will have one choice left! AMD.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 12:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
Intel has been around much longer
Intel - circa 1968
AMD - circa 1969
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 04:24 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Lol, i have a AMD chipset network card somewhere.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.