What will Intel do when...... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2005, 06:02 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
macdawg's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 813

a lotta people are already confused with the dual cores, they're like, how come this one is 2.8 Pentium D is more expensive than the 3.4 GHZ processor?

macdawg is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 08:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS

Intel is smart enough to have marketing, unlike AMD.

AMD has the second worst marketing I know of.

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 09:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078

I say they set up a bunch of bench mark programs and get the speed that the processor can perform at like boot time, file copying time, rendering time, etc. And combine that to come up with a number like pentium X1000 or something. Smaller number but the X makes it sound cool
Don't see that happening though. They will probably just do something similar to AMD or make more use of their number system.
dario03 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 10:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Chankama's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523

Just use "INSTRUCTIONS per second" convention. Pretty much everyone in engineering circles use this. Might as well introduce it to the general public as well.

Shouldn't be too much effort if you just give this convention more exposure.
Chankama is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 10:12 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default Re: What will Intel do when......

Originally posted by pc_boy
Ok, since you all know it's the end of "the gigahertz war", and both Intel is gonna start focusing more on architecture than frequency (eg. 3.8GHZ intel is crap, and the 2.8 and 3.2GHZ are outperforming it) I wonder how are they gonna convince the ppl, who are still looking at "GHZ", that "this chip is better than that". AMD is alredy naming them 3200+ for example, but what's intel gonna do?
Uhh because dumb people at retail stores convince everyone to get faster GHZ because it costs more and the store needs more money and they know everything about everything.
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5

No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 10:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer

i have a question for u guyz what does the 3200+ mean can anyone tell me that?
Intel has been around much longer and been much much more succesful i think theyll be able to come up with something
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 10:44 AM   #17 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180

Originally posted by timmer
i have a question for u guyz what does the 3200+ mean can anyone tell me that?
That means, that the processor is equivalent to Intel's 3.2 GHz processor.

I think Intel will come up with a new scheme, because look at their marketing. I'm sure they have a bunch of people at their headquarters or some other place thinking of the same thing, or they may already have decided what they're going to do, they're just waiting for the right time to implement it.
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 10:53 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312

Who cares if the stupid uninformed people still buy processors based on GHz? As long as we don't who gives a rats ***? Let them screw themselves over. Remember, if people stop buying intel because they think they are getting slower, they might buy AMD! And since apple is converting to intel, that will discourage them from buying apple as well, so they will have one choice left! AMD.
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 11:01 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790

Intel has been around much longer
Intel - circa 1968
AMD - circa 1969
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 03:24 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

Lol, i have a AMD chipset network card somewhere.

Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.