What type of wire? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2006, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default What type of wire?

I have this dvd player that comes with an LCD screen, and I was wondering how can I use the LCD screen by itself...maybe with my computer. It's a small 7". But the s-video like wire is different...one end has 8 pins instead of a traditional 4 pin s-video, and the other end is some like a power and headphone jack...
Here are the inputs of the LCD:



The s-video type looks like this:




Is it possible to go out of my graphic card via s-video, in somehow with this other type of s-video?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 03:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Your graphics card has S-VIDEO output, and your 7" LCD has only an AV input, right?

You need an S-VIDEO to RCA (also known as Composite) cable:



The S-VIDEO end plugs into your graphics card, and the RCA / Composite end plugs into your LCD monitor. You can get both 4-pin and 8-pin S-VIDEO versions.

I'm still confused though...

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
...But the s-video like wire is different...one end has 8 pins instead of a traditional 4 pin s-video, and the other end is some like a power and headphone jack...
...Is this a wire that came with your DVD player, and you're asking if you can use this wire to hook your PC up to the 7" LCD?

If so, then the answer is no, because the cable you described (S-VIDEO like cable with a headphone jack and power like plug, which might actually be RCA) sounds like an adapted cable for use with specifically connecting the DVD player & LCD together.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yes this wire did come with the dvd player, and I was asking if theres anyway to connect this LCD to the computer. I have an S-Video to RCA cable but the RCA doesn't fit into the AV input of the LCD.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 05:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Quote:
Originally posted by b1gapl
Yes this wire did come with the dvd player, and I was asking if theres anyway to connect this LCD to the computer. I have an S-Video to RCA cable but the RCA doesn't fit into the AV input of the LCD.
Okies. Sorry wrong cable . Is the RCA too big for the AV socket on the LCD monitor?

Picture's kinda fuzzy ...does the socket have spacing around the outside of the metal loop, or does the socket only have a void in the middle?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-21-2006, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

The input of the AV socket looks like that off a headphone jack..there is no spacing outside of the metal loop.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.