What type of features.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2005, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default What type of features....

do you need in a video card to hook i up to your TV?

If that's even possible, how does it work?

persianxballer is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
uzi9mm's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553

As much as I know, Yes you do need one. Unless your onboard video supports it. Most newer laptops do without have a "dedicated card".
It works by you pluging in either a S-video or composite video connection from the computer(the video out) to the TV (video in).
Sorry about being so vague, there is really no other way to explain it.

INTEL i7 930
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019

no mobos in a pc ive ever seen have onboard TV out....
most new graphics cards these days have TV out
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 06:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth

Even my ancient MX420 that I USED to make myself suffer with had TV-Out
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088

Yep, any good video card will work fine. You can also buy external hardware for this. But again, the price adds up to the amount of a video card. So im not going to get into that. Since getting a video card is alot better way.

I suggest getting a good video card. You can connect your TV up, while having a good video card you can injoy. But if you want to spend the minimun, then go to radio shack. Tell them you need a special card to connect your TV to computer, vice versa. This card slides in your PCI, and cost around 50$.
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451

So, if a video card has a TV Out plug, it can be hooked up to my regular TV.

What is VIVO?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 07:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451

Please, someone answer my question.

persianxballer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.