what tv brands a good - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2007, 12:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 154
Default what tv brands a good

i will be getting a new tv and i want to hook my 360 to it and cable and also hook up my computer to it.

which brands are good for LCD's around 32"
__________________

raiders_best is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 01:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Samsung. 'Nuff said.

http://www.samsung.com/Products/TV/L...asp?viewPage=2
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Samsung. 'Nuff said.

http://www.samsung.com/Products/TV/L...asp?viewPage=2
Yeah, if you like to pay $1500 more than you need to.

www.westinghouse.com
The General is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 04:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Yeah, if you like to pay $1500 more than you need to.

www.westinghouse.com

Maybe they've changed, but Westinghouse used to be a brand sold by Wal-Mart. Maybe it's different. And yes, I owned a 19" Tube by that company, it crapped out after a month.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 06:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Maybe they've changed, but Westinghouse used to be a brand sold by Wal-Mart. Maybe it's different. And yes, I owned a 19" Tube by that company, it crapped out after a month.
Westinghouse as always been quality, always been "named brand" ... perhaps you got a defective one, but all companies have their fair share of defective products, they don't attest to the quality of the rest of them.

My friend bought a Sony computer one time, and when he went to power it on for the first time, the power button just fell inside the computer.

Not all Sony computers have that problem...
The General is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Westinghouse as always been quality, always been "named brand" ... perhaps you got a defective one, but all companies have their fair share of defective products, they don't attest to the quality of the rest of them.

Mine was "White-Westinghouse" if that matters.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 08:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default

I've always used Zenith TV's as they work well for me. IMO if it matters they are decent televisions. check em out.

http://www.zenith.com/home_flash.asp?flash=true

Some of the Samsung televisions i have watched have impressed me as well.

Google for some reviews on the televisions your intrested in and compair them to others. Than order the one you want.

almost forgot http://www.zenith.com/index.asp?url=...asp%3Fcat%3D11
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 12:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I have the Sony Bravia 32" LCDTV, and it's great. All my TVs have been Sony, and none have failed me.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 02:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

dude, u can get a 56" DLP generation 6 Samsung for ~$15-1600 with warntee. probably cheaper now, found one for my friend about 5 months ago for 1550, probably cheaper now
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 01-17-2007, 05:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

If you dont want to pay lot, RCA makes very attractive TV's. I've had two of them, the only reason I replaced the first one is because it only had RF input. Still works like a beauty after 10 years.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.