At what Temp should a AMD XP2800+ run at? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2004, 07:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default At what Temp should a AMD XP2800+ run at?

i just got a new AMD XP 2800+ and i just wanted to know what temp it should be at normally?
__________________

__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 08:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it melts at about 85 degrees (celcius) so anything below about 55 or 60 should be ok
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-06-2004, 06:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 199
Send a message via AIM to bomt697
Default

oh ok cuz am around 37-41 most of the time, got my self a 40CFM fan on the heat sink
__________________
if it was up to me, my sound system would be worth more then the latest and greatest comp.

-Gigabite 880 mobo
-AMD FX -8350 Black edition
-Kingston Hyper X 16gigs
-Western Digital 1Tb HD
-GeForce GTX 660Ti
-thermaltake 850watt psu
-logitech Z-55oo speakers
bomt697 is offline  
Old 05-07-2004, 10:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 504
Default

Yeah, anything under 40 is fantastic. If you can keep it in the 40's under load and in the 30's idle, then that is ideal.
__________________
<img src = \"http://filebox.vt.edu/users/chuck527/My%20Work/Sig.jpg\">
ThirtySixBelow is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to blankbandit
Default

ok, so i gotta question. i'm not over clocking and i don't even have an OS installed yet. my temp is 56C w/o putting the cpu to any hard work. why is it so high compared to these posts? i'd imagine it's gonna soar once i start using programs and such.
thanx
blankbandit is offline  
Old 05-08-2004, 08:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

is the heat sink and/or fan installed correctly?
is the fan any good?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 12:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to blankbandit
Default

yeah, i think it's installed properly. it's running and all. aside from that, how else can one tell if it's not running properly- the heatsink/fan. the fan is the one that came w/ the retail cpu so i'm not sure if those are sufficient or not. i did put thermal paste compound too. did i not put enough or something cuz it was my first time and maybe i screwed that up-dunno.
blankbandit is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 08:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to jenova720
Default

i dunno about celcius.. i have the same processor as you but mine used to run at 140F degrees... after i bought my old case its like 115-130 now...
__________________

jenova720 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.