What speed (Ghz) is AMD64 3000+? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2004, 10:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Exclamation What speed (Ghz) is AMD64 3000+?

Is AMD64 3000+ 2.0 Ghz?

What about the AMD64 3200+?

I am confused. Thx.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Ok... I just found out that it is 2.0Ghz for 3000+ and 2.2Ghz for 3200+. The cache is only 512k, and I can`t find the FSB. Is it 800?

If I am running the AMD64 3000+ (2.0Ghz). Is it much faster than running a P4 1.8Ghz (533FSB - 512k Cache). Thx in advance.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 12:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 67
Default

Actually the 3200 is 2.0 ghz as well, the only difference is it has 1024 cache rather than 512. The 3400 is the 2.2 ghz.
Zipp080 is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 02:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by agex000

If I am running the AMD64 3000+ (2.0Ghz). Is it much faster than running a P4 1.8Ghz (533FSB - 512k Cache). Thx in advance.
Absolutely. It will run circles around that Pentium 4 with ease. Dont even bother with anything but the best Pentium when youre comparing AMD Athlon64 to a Pentium 4. Its really amazing how the Athlon 64 series really hits their price point, with the best price/performance ration seen in years and that they keep really on pace with their much more expensive bretheren the Athlon 64 FX's.
__________________


Apple, Mac OS , and Power PC
g5orbust is offline  
Old 05-27-2004, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

The AMD64's don't list a FSB because they have an onboard memory controller, so their FSB is basicly as fast as the processor, 2.0ghz.....This is were they really crush the P4 and overtake it
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 12:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Merlin
The AMD64's don't list a FSB because they have an onboard memory controller, so their FSB is basicly as fast as the processor, 2.0ghz.....This is were they really crush the P4 and overtake it
Only the FX-51/53 chips have onboard memory controllers...
__________________


Apple, Mac OS , and Power PC
g5orbust is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 02:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

does that mean the pentiums with FSB of 800 MHZ are no match for AMD which as you said have a 2 GHz FSB
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 04:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to D4RK GR4YL3N
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by g5orbust
Only the FX-51/53 chips have onboard memory controllers...
all the athlon 64 series have onboard memory controllers:
Quote:
from the product description of the Athlon 64 3400+
A fully integrated DDR memory controller helps speed access to memory by offering the processor a direct connection to the main memory. As a result, end users can enjoy quicker application loading, better multi-tasking, and extraordinary application performance.

as for p4 vs. athlon 64, i like the 64 but there are plusses and minuses to both.

(100th post)
__________________
Athlon 64 @ 2.3 ghz
Chaintech mobo
9800 Pro
1 gig RAM
2x 160 gig sata
Audigy 2 zs
dvd/cdrw
D4RK GR4YL3N is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 11:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

all the athlon 64 series have onboard memory controllers:

no, g5orbust is right, only the FX's have onboard dual-channel memory controllers

Athlon 64 2800+ = 1800MHZ and 512kb cache
Athlon 64 3000+ = 2000MHZ and 512kb cache
Athlon 64 3200+ = 2000MHZ and 1024kb cache
Athlon 64 3400+ = 2200MHZ and 1024kb cache

Athlon 64 FX-51 = 2200MHZ, 1024kb cache, and dual-channel memory controller
Athlon 64 FX-53 = 2400MHZ, 1024kb cache, and dual-channel memory controller
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 12:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to Laser
Default

When i was pricing 64bit processors, the AMD64 series all ahd 1600Mhz fronside bus.
__________________

__________________
If it aint broke, fix it till it is.
---------------------------------
System Specs
MSI K8N Platinum
Athlon64 3500+ Skt. 939
Corsair TwinX 3200 1GB Dual Channel
2 80GB SATA 150 in Raid0
Sound Blaster Audigy Platinum
Sapphire ATI Radeon x850XT
Sony 48x12x48x16 CDRW/DVD Combo
Laser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.