what size hard drive should I get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2005, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Question what size hard drive should I get?

I'm kinda new to computers and was wondering what size hard drive I should get for storing all my games, music, ect. I want enough space to store all my music downloads and games for several years.

also I was wondering, should I get a seperate WD Raptor 10K rpm drive to store windows xp on for better performence? and if so, what size should that one be?
__________________

j4ckaL is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 11:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

if you got the cash, yes get a fast one for windows. (just small)

i rekon anything over 200Gb should be ok for some time.
__________________

__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 11:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

how small should the fast drive for windows be? As small as I can find?
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 11:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

what sizes do they come in?
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 11:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

74GB and 36GB
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 11:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Default

36gb is fine, that's what i use.
Luxar is offline  
Old 08-06-2005, 11:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default

36gb for xp and other programs.
150gb + for storage

or if u dont want to spend 115 on a 36gb hd get a 7200 one but still use the seperate drive for xp incase u need to reformat.
phillio is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 12:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

yep get the 36gb for windows

and a 200gb SATA for other
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 12:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 718
Default

Cool, thanks for the replies.

Now this may sound dumb but this isn't what they call a RAID-0 configuration is it?

And specifically what kind of a performance increase will doing this provide? Faster load times in games? I just want to make sure the cost of this extra drive is worth it because it will add cost to my already pretty expensive build I'm planning.

one last question, will having two drives be much noisier than one, especially since one will be a 10K rpm? I'm getting a good sound setup and I don't want to have an overly loud PC roaring away next to me, making the expensive sound less enjoyable. lol
j4ckaL is offline  
Old 08-07-2005, 01:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

For storage on my comp, I have a 250 gig harddrive. It fills up quickly with movies, music, pictures, games, etc... I just reformatted and wiped the drive clean just a week or so ago and already I have used 40 percent of the capacity. I should have gone with a 300+ gig at least. It's all on the user, how much data do you have and much do you aquire and how fast?
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.