What should I get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2005, 08:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default What should I get?

I just received $75 and now I am undecided upon what I shall get for my computer. I really need a new graphics card but that is out of my budget range. I could also use another stick of my current ram for use in dual channel, but that is $100 so no go there. I will be spending around $30 for a $15 fan duct, $4 fan, and $4 120-80mm fan adapter. The rest will be for shipping. So I am left with $40. I can't decide if I want to sell my current graphics card which is an Asus GeForce Ti 4400 w/ Thermaltake Giant heatsink that oc's to 300/645 stabily. This is my only bottleneck for gaming as of now. My processor out scores a 3.6ghz pentium 4 w/ ht in most tests on Sandra. You can view my specs in my sig, but now I have my cpu at 200x12.5 or 2.5ghz. I also have a new psu whic is much nicer than my last. I am thinking of getting these speakers- http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...121-118&depa=0 because they are at half the price that they are at best buy. These things sound really good when I was listening to them at best buy. My ram is also very good.... I can't think of something else that would increase my fps in FarCry which is my main game. I know speakers wont lol but I love the sound quality and they would look so good with my system, well alot better than my beige pos ones lol.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

What happened to destroying my mobile XP OC?


I'd say those speakers would be awesome to purchase though as you've pretty much eliminated any other hardware by your post there and the fact that most everything will require a good amount of money.

You'd probably be better off getting a new graphics card whenever you could instead of the RAM
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

I was going to go with them speakers at first, but for some reasonthe "X" Look on these philips speakers just won me over also the sub is great too.
ApM is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
What happened to destroying my mobile XP OC?


I'd say those speakers would be awesome to purchase though as you've pretty much eliminated any other hardware by your post there and the fact that most everything will require a good amount of money.

You'd probably be better off getting a new graphics card whenever you could instead of the RAM
Don't worry yourself about your own demise, it will come soon enough. I am getting that thermal duct to complete the compression effect on my cpu through both of my fans. After that happens I will go to 200x13 then start oc'ing the ram. I am experiencing some windows errors though. Is this directly related to oc'ing? It seems once I go to far right before I hear the sirens it will give me a blue screen. The errors differ most of the time. I haven't wanted to push further than 2.0vcore and I am at 2.5ghz 1.975vcore right now. I really want to get a new vid card, how much do you think I can get for my current one? It runs FarCry fine with all low settings. My ram is at 2 2 2 5 right now which is better than stock 2 3 3 6.... 2.8ghz stabily isn't that far away from where I am now . I am thinking of gambling and getting a 9800se and unlocking the other 4 pipelines to have a 9800pro, which would make my computer a very good gaming computer. Right now it's just good for starting up very fast and watching porn lol.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Don't worry yourself about your own demise, it will come soon enough.
Not with my bigwater and 2 rads you wont

With 1.975v just for 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz is an impossibility for you.


If you look at price watch that card of yours is around $65-$80 depending on the amount of RAM, so considering it's used I'd say $65, but if you sell that aftermarket GPU heatsink with it, then easily $80-85 or so IMO.

BTW, I pushed 2.225 Vcore (the boards max lol) into trying to get 2.8GHz stable, wouldn't do it though.

If your getting blue screens I'd say it's because your RAM is pushed with timings tighter than it cares to run, either that or you are severely undervolting your CPU, but I've never got a BSOD from a CPU being unstable, only memory.

What kind of idle and load temps are you getting at what speed on what voltage?

Are you prime95'ing these timings to make sure they are completely stable or just assuming it's stable cause it boots?

EDIT: BTW you should OC your CPU first to the point where you know exactly how fast it will run on the exact voltage, and making sure it can run prime95 for atleast 12 hours straight with no errors.

After that you can begin OC'ing the RAM which is a much more difficult task requiring a lot of patience and trial and error, much more than OC'ing the CPU.

Mines at 235x10.5 I think right now for 2.467, letting the RAM have time to burn in before I try pushing it more.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

rather than spend ur money straight away why dont u save for a new GfX ?
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Yea you will probably beat me with your water cooling. My idle is 42.5 and full load is 50.5 right now. I can run 1.95 which is actually what I think it's at right now. I'm pretty sure it is. I ran prime95 for 4 hours with no errors. Just got up to 50.5 so I stopped it. When I get this duct it will bring the room temperature air directly to the cpu and be coming in at greater than 140cfm or so I believe. It runs fine a 1.95 vcore I think I only had it at 1.975 just to try to raise the fsb by 5mhz. I will put my ram back to 2 3 3 6 and see if I can not get any of those errors I mentioned. I have only gotten those twice though. The overclockage will continue once i get my duct. Also if I do go about oc'ing my ram, since 2.8 volts is the max on our boards, is that to much for my ram? What is the safety etiquette on that. Do you have aim by chance? If you do can you pm me your sn so I can talk to you about some of this on there when I get back home?

EDIT: Oh BTW, 1.975 works for 200x13 stabily, it's just a heat factor I am running into as of now. I am trying to remain under 55 degrees celsius and I have it set to shutdown at 60. I will by trying that cpu off thing you posted earlier. I remember using it once before but I have reinstalled windows several times since then, does this mean I have to put it back on there.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VIII
rather than spend ur money straight away why dont u save for a new GfX ?
I am considering this right now. I can't decide how much I will need for a new card. If I could sell my 256mb of pc2100 crucial ram for $25, and my vid card for $80, I would have approximately $45 left from the $75, that would be $150. Not bad really, I could save $50 more dollars and get a 6600GT.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
since 2.8 volts is the max on our boards, is that to much for my ram?
2.9 is the max, and your RAM should be able to handle it no problem, especially if you have good airflow in your case.

I had 38C on full load in my fanned out midtower case, but since moving into this thermaltake case it's now like 41C full load, so I'm hoping for even lower with the water cooling especially with 2 rads that have 120mm fans on them of course this will require some modding to my case to be able to get those things to stay on there.

I had to move fans around and lower my voltage to get it to 41C in this case though as it was hitting 47C at 1.875 Vcore so I lowered it to 1.825 and that seemed to lower it quite a bit.

Regarding the cooling patch yes you do have to reinstall it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

IDK why I said 2.8, I guess it's been to long since I have been inside my bios lol. Will I notice a difference in idle temps from that though? Doesn't the bios I am using (mantarays xt) have something of the sort built in?
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.