what should i do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2005, 06:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default what should i do?

ok i am debating whether or not to overclock right now. my setup is below and i have gotten up to 2.6 before but whenever i overclock it never seems to be stable on Prime95. it always says "Rounding error. 0.5 expected less than 0.4"

i have a good feel for what i am doing in the BIOS but whatever i do i cant get it stable. my vdimm voltage is up at about 2.9v with latencies of 2.5-3-3- 7 (stock 2-2-2-5) and my ldt bus is at X3 and my ram is at a 1:1 ratio with the FSB which was at 260. even when i lowered it to 2.4 it seemed instable. any ideas and/or comments if i should overclock? why or why not and how high SHOULD i be able to get it running stable and what am i doing wrong?

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 06:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375


SteveGTA is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 10:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694

i don't think you should worry about overclocking your CPU. I had a Barton 2500+ that just would not overclock. Unstable. I bought another one and it overclocked great (3200+ speeds).

Bottom line is that some processors just come out better than others, meaning two processors that are the same make, speed, mfg.

Also, are you going to get a huge increase in performance if you could overclock it?
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 10:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375

when i overclock i seem to see a decrease in performance in counter strike and a small gain in some benchmarking programs. i have gotten it to high speeds stable before but then i put it back to stock settings for a while and now it doesnt stay stable. well i dont really care i guess since my compy runs fine without bein oc'd.
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 05-23-2005, 12:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 41

try to restore your cpu's speed to its default setting..... anyway these manufacturers created this processors to run stable at their default why not buy a fater processor and sell your old one... this will lessen the risk of damage in your processor
yapeeyapee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.