what ram should i get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2005, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
Default what ram should i get?

i want to get another stick of ram for my computer i just biult but i want it cheap. I want 512 of pc3200. what brand shoudl i get and at waht price could iget a better deal if i go with on stick of 1gb of pc3200.
__________________

socom234 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Kingston Valueram has always been good for me.Ive never had one go out on me yet.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 04:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Kingston, Kingmax, Hynix, Geil, Corsair, all good brands. Look for ram with low latencies, also if you want you can get DDR ram with speeds higher than DDR 400. DDR 500 and DDR 550 is available.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 07:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

I would have to say Kingmax value ram because one of my friends got it a while ago and it overclocks great to about 250+ MHZ FSB for value ram.

So i would have to say that.
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

I would have to agree with you guys, Kingmax Value Ram would be my choice if i was going to build a pc, if i had the money i might go for lower latency ram though.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 09:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

I just got a stick of Corsair XMS, and it IS stable as hell
Corsair...
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 05:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

I have a stick of generic and its also "stable as hell" however its not overclocked. Generic is not ideal, but if your on a very tight budget, and your not using very demanding applications, generic should suffice.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 06:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

generic is not the greatest RAM, although it is alright if you're not a gamer/overclocker
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 11:12 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

don't know what your budget is..

but i personally like Crucial memory.

they offer a 100% compatibility w/ your machine, so pretty much any machine.

i use the value RAM from them, and the same w/ every other pc i upgrade for friends/family...works everytime!

there are a lot of systems out there that may not be compatible w/ certain RAM , but Crucial is right on!

they are also known as Micron Tech...

1GB sticks are quite expensive now, i'd say if you're on a budget get a stick of 512mb...for now.

Crucial pc3200

or

Crucial pc3200
__________________

__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.