what RAM for my old machine - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2004, 05:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default what RAM for my old machine

Hi
i have an old machine which has a Gigabyte GA-5AX motherboard, i wanted to know what kind of RAM could i fit on it. and what is the max size of RAM i could fit in each of its slots.
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 06:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

The board supports up to 768 MB of unbuffered PC100 SDRAM (as well as ECC modules), but according to Gigabyte, the largest single module you can use is 256 MB for each slot.
__________________

__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

so that is 256x3 for 3 slots.
each module could be 32-256 megs
is that right?
rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.