what new motherboard & CPU should i get - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2004, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default what new motherboard & CPU should i get

I am thinking about getting a new motherboard and cpu. I have heard asus are really good motherboards for gamming and stuff. Im looking to spend around 400$ on a new motherboard and processor. I kinda want the processor to be an AMD like an athlon xp or something that’s really fast. Maybe like around 3.0GHz. what should i go with.
__________________

Rance is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Well, hmm.....

You could get a 2800+ or 3000+ Athlon XP for $120 or You could get a AMD 64 3000+ which I think is about $180

The AMD is abit faster than XP's and even with the mobo it should be within your budget

As for the motherboard, ASUS are good brands and nForce is a very good chipset, adn thats about all I know in that area
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 11:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Merlin
The AMD is abit faster than XP's and even with the mobo it should be within your budget
? i thought AMD was XPs to? i thought that was just the brand?

also why on the AMDs does it say like 3200+ (2.2GHz) ? shouldnt it be 3.2 GHz?
Rance is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 11:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default

like on windows it says 2.2GHz in system settings but with intels it says 3.2 GHz
Rance is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 11:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

Get the Abit AN7 and an Athlon XP above 2800+
Erik is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 06:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rance
? i thought AMD was XPs to? i thought that was just the brand?

also why on the AMDs does it say like 3200+ (2.2GHz) ? shouldnt it be 3.2 GHz?
AMD use PR~Performance Rating to name their cpu.
That's mean for 3200+ the performance is same like Intel 3.2GHz.
didi is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 05:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default

ah i see. but why on does it say 2.2ghz on windows why doesnt it just say 3.2 if thats really what it is.
Rance is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 06:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rance
? i thought AMD was XPs to? i thought that was just the brand?
Sorry to confuse you, It was a typo and it should have said that the AMD64 is abit faster then the Athlon XP's
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 06-10-2004, 09:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 5
Default

oh lol
Rance is offline  
Old 06-11-2004, 03:53 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Bcosz the real frequency is 2.2G. Is just that although with AMD2.2G is still can compete with Intel3.2G.
Frequency higher doesnt mean that will be faster. They still have a lot of factors to consider.
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.