What makes my pc run faster (p3 and only 128mb ram!!) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-23-2005, 11:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default What makes my pc run faster (p3 and only 128mb ram!!)

Hey...


1.Does it make the computer run faster if the files and folders are on another partition of

the hard disk and have shortuts on desktop? (My hard disk is 80 gb and I made it into 2

partitions;each 40 gb)

Also, what will make the comptuer run faster (it is very slow and only has 128 mb of ram),

if I install my programs to the same partition as Windows is installed on or to the other

partition?

Or is the difference unnoticable?


2.Is it better if I install an antivirs and and a internet security (was thinking of mcafae)

or is it better if I dont? Does it make the computer very much slower or not? (p3,

128ram!!!) (for which is the pros more than the cons?)



Thank YOu
__________________

Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well for speed probably ditch the antivirus because on slower computers it can make a big difference. but if you are using the internet on this computer it is pretty much a neccesity. what OS is the computer on? another thing is if it is a pre-built computer (i.e. dell, hp, compaq) often they are equipped with slower ram than can be used. for instance pc100 where pc133 can be used. try and get at least 256mb of pc133 i would say.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 12:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Good call on making separate partitions. That does speed up performance by a little. I would partition your HD as such:

6GB-Windows
34GB-Programs
40GB-User Files(Also where the page file goes)

As for antivirus, etc, do this:
-Use a lightweight virus scanner. AVG on my computer only uses about 9MB of RAM continuously
-Use a lightweight firewall. I hear that TinyFirewall is really good and uses minmal system resources
-Like nitestick said, if you can, get a bit more RAM, and your system will speed up a whole bunch. Even 256MB is really good.
-Don't use many desktop shortcuts, it takes memory to keep all that stuff there.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 01:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

256MB PC133 might not work, my 1.0Ghz Coppermine 370 PIII with 133fsb doesn't support PC133, but only pc100. I still have an unused 256MB pc133 stick somewhere.
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 02:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

I have 133 in my p3 it works but it downclocks to 100 on yours it should work at full speed.I am buying 256 more 4 mine 4 10 bucks used that will improve performace a bit.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 05:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

thanx for your replies guys...
I am using windows XP Pro...

You think having 3 partitions (6, 34, and 40 gb) is better?
Is the difference noticable or not? (compared to having ony 2, one for windows and prog and the other for files and folders)


As for the shortucs, does it take more memory to have the shortcuts on the desktop than to have the actuall files???

Is AVG and that firewall more effective than McAfae or Norton?
(or the same; in that case where it saves ram)

Do you advise me to install them rather than installing norton or macafae?
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Norton is a system HOG!! Norton is very good, but takes a lot of resources. I cant remember how much McAfee took, but, I remember it was quite buggy, when I had it, although it might have changed.

Yes, I think that having those 3 partitions is better. But, having it that way wont increase performance by much at all.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 06:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

You think norton is good?



Bwhahahaha
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 04:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

Is there any way I can reduce the size of the partitions (and create a new one) without having to format and install windows again?

What about the shortcuts? Is it better if I have shortcuts or the actual folders on the desktop?

Is AVG effective?

I had norton in the past and it was good...I didnt have any probs with my pc but, as you said, it took a lot of resources...

McAfae was good to but took less resources than Norton, but still, if I am not mistaken, it took quite a lot...

Is 6GB enough for windows??? Lets say I partitioned them as you said (6,34,40) and installed the progs on D (34gb)...windows is on C....is there a way that when I want to install any program, it automatically has D as the directory? (I might not remember to change it everytime I want to install something!!)

Thanx Again
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 04:58 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Yes, AVG is good. I don't know about how it is with system resources, though.

McAfee = garbage. Sorry, but I found out through experience. AVG will beat it, hands down. I use Computer Associates' ezArmor (firewall & anti-virus), as it works very well and uses almost no resources at all.

What all do you have running in the background? Use 'msconfig' and nix everything but your AV, firewall, and anything you have to have (I have my mouse driver and broadband client, and that's it). Getting rid of all the excess baggage running in the background will open up resources, thus speeding up your computer (as well as helping it start up quicker).

Defragging your hard drive can help as well, if it is fragmented.

Scan your system for adware and spyware. Go to http://www.trendmicro.com/spyware-scan/ and use TrendMicro's free online scan. You can use their online virus scan as well while you're there.

Go here: http://www.majorgeeks.com/TweakNow_R...ner_d4134.html and download TweakNow. Run it and let it clean up your registry. Just follow its directions about what is safe to delete.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.