What kinda case you have? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 01:26 PM   #31 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

Antec Performance Plus View
__________________

chog is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 01:46 PM   #32 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
I actually think I am going to look into that case. I cant imagine the wind tunnel causing the CPU to run hotter, it looks like it would be quite efficient, even moreso with the explanation you gave to it. I imagine if you put some killer fans in there, you could get it to work great.

If you are going to put in a water cooling system, you should keep the wind tunnel and house to radiator in there. Your radiator can never be too cool...
I think the wind tunnel can only really be effective with more efficient fans. The stock 120mm intake/exhaust for the wind tunnel aren't horrible, but it would make sense that a more powerful fan can make use of the "section" system.

You can't really "feel" the air with the wind tunnel, but usually you're not supposed to be able to feel a large push from these case fans, are you?

Another thing that really prevents efficiency of the wind tunnel is the organization of cables. You most likely wont' be able to use the wind tunnel if you don't get a motherboard power extension cable. The thing is that if you do get an extension, you have a load of excess. Sleeving it might help with airflow, but the extension I got off of newegg is pretty long and isn't sleeved. It basically just blocks off any air flow.

I don't know really. To be honest, I wouldn't buy this case for the wind tunnel, unless you really think you can make use of it. I bought the case because Silverstone is a very reliable brand, its a large durable case, and it has great potential because of its size.

I have yet to see actual benchmarks testing the efficiency of that wind tunnel. Let me know if you find any.

As far as water cooling, I was planning to get a 120mm radiator put it in place of my 120mm intake. I've just started looking into water cooling so I don't know much of anything on it. Good idea?
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 01:47 PM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

POS. I don't know the brand. I bought it off a guy for $10 because I needed it ASAP.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 02:21 PM   #34 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Water cooling systems are very easy, extremyl effective, and cost not too much money. You might want to check out www.dangerden.com for some parts, and also look at Nubius' sticky in the overclocking section: "An very basic water cooling guide". I know alot on the given subject, so if you need any help, just ask. Alot of people here know things as well, and there have been lots of posts. Just search and ask some people, you will get the answers to any question you may have.
Him is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 02:27 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

<<Avatar

http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?inv...8869-3&cat=CAS
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 02:43 PM   #36 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Quote:
That looks like a Raidmax?
yes it is bigger than my raidmax case. the thing pwns big time man cause it rox. i want a thermaltake case soo bad. but since i have this raidmax i guess im happy w/ it.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 05:16 PM   #37 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Quote:
Trotter, what the hell is wrong with you? An eMachines?!?!?!! My friend, you just stepped in fron of the car on that one! God, if I were in your shoes, I would at least have lied about my case.
Check my sig. My crappy little eMachine has grown into a kewl lil monster.

I wanted to gut it and rebuild using a different microATX board and all, but the missus wasn't too hip about it, so here I be. But, hey, it gets the job done.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 02:12 AM   #38 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 252
Default

i got Xdreamer
anyone know if that case has good cooling?
__________________
TERRORZONA REPRAZENT
pwnzer
onyo is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 03:29 AM   #39 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dhw200
[B]ive got an A Top X Blade case. Its steel, so its a little heavier than it should be, but i like it alot

Same case as i have except i have the basic one with no logo's or lcd,It's a decent size and has ok stock cooling,I just took it a step further and replaced all the fan's with stronger one's,Plus i added another 120mm on top and a 92mm down where i have extra pci slot's.
Shumway is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 06:30 AM   #40 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Here's my new case, It is an old photo though cause i don't have my digital camera at the moment. Recently i have sleeved all of the cables.



Drworm2005.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon64 3500+ @ 2.2ghz
GIGABYTE K8V Ultra-pro
1gig generic ram (2x512mb)
XFX Geforce 6600 GT 128mb
80gig segate serial ATA HDD
LG Lightscribe DVD burner
drworm2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.