What kinda case you have? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2005, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default What kinda case you have?

Eh?

I need some options POST YOUR CASE FOO's!
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I have your standard Antec steel case. It is the one that every company makes and puts their name on it. It is really heavy, but it is killer heavy duty! It cost me $100 at compusa. It's nice and big, but not clunky, got a window in the side, and plenty of room for fans and stuff on the inside.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I got a Antec 660AMG case. Very heavy as well, as it is made out of thick steel. The only thing is, it has a plastic frount, and I snap plastic stuff all the time.


It also came with a Antec 330watt TP PSU.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

We may have the same case, does yours have a door covering all of the drives with a lock on it? Mine does, I broke that pretty quickly. Damn cheap plastic! Mine came with an Antec PSU as well, but I quickly made short work of that. Too many case fans...
Him is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

This is what I have been looking at:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133132

I am just afraid it's too small as I have a full tower currently.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

No, I went for the cheaper one, with no window, with a plan of getting a window kit. Just need the tool to do it. Grrr.


__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Dont use a dremel, you will mangle the hell out of your case. Use a jigsaw, most people have one of those laying around. Or a router, they are designed to cut through steel I believe.
Him is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

My router wasn't designed to cut through metal

My friend offered me his dremel to do it with, but it takes him two hours to cut a 80mm fan hole in a cheap thin steel case :s

I will do it one day over the summer though. With a jigsaw. I know a couple of people that have one, just hopefully they will let me borrow it.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

HEY! My topic talk about me!

anyways like I said above:

I've been looking into this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133132

I am just afraid it's too small.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

My case is simply a metal box with a side window. That's all it is. I think the make is iCute or something, but I found it in a shop and it was so incredibly cheap so I got it. It's dangerous though, when working inside there are many sharp bits of metal.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.