What is HT supposed to be - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2005, 09:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

not always. Windows is not very intelligent, so it often puts most if not all of the load on one CPU. usually the programs that run have to be programmed to take advantage of a second CPU/core
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 10:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default

so ht is of no use to a home computer? what will is be any good for then?
__________________

i_learn is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 10:22 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default

i just saw it.....maybe late news.l.........but all the same........apparently windows xp x64 supports dual cores
Quote:
Multiprocessing and multicore

Windows XP Professional x64 Edition is designed to support up to two single or multicore x64 processors for maximum performance and scalability.
is that any better?
i_learn is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 10:31 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Good information. Learned something here.
xven is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 11:19 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

yeah, although XP 64 is still buggy ATM
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 02:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Windows XP pro supports dual core CPU's. But, I have no idea how well it is. Probally like what was said before, and crap at organising them.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 08:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

but it does not really manage them well
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-05-2005, 09:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Default

But Windows XP 64 doesn't support Intel Hyperthreading processors does it? Because they are only 32 bit?
Kilew is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 02:47 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
Default

so if the processor is not a 64 bit........the x64 will not run?
has intel come out with one.....i believe amd is coming out with one...k8 or some such thing
i_learn is offline  
Old 11-06-2005, 05:33 AM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Windows x64 won't run on 32 but CPU, while regular, 32 bit XP runs on both 32 and 64 bit CPUs but than you can't benefit from 64 bit extensions if you CPU supports them.

AMD have lots of 64 bit CPUs which are very popular these days, Intel also have 64 bit CPUs, the technology called EM64T, so every Intel CPU which have EM64T support is actually 64 bit. However, somehow Intel's 64 bit CPUs are much less popular, I barely heard of people ho has it.
__________________

__________________
smartech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.