What the heck's Firewire?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2004, 02:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default What the heck's Firewire?!

__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 03:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/I/IEEE_1394.html
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Thanks aye. Now, how/where/with what do I get one?
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 04:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

If your computer has a Firewire port, then you can connect external hard dirves, CD drives and other peripherals to it. Its basically like USB.
aye29 is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

ahh ok thanks.
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to mousepad
Default

Like a really fast usb. Mostly used for video, if I am correct.
__________________
me: in fact the san diego\'s pretty much hit the very top on games
friend: yeah
friend: its all the illegal labor


Computer Specs
HP Presario R4025US NoteBook
Athlon 64 AMD3200+ .... 15.4\" WXGA
1GB DDR .... 80GB + 120 GB External
DVD±R/RW .... ATI RADEON Xpress 200M
mousepad is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 09:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Do they come with the case or are they extra pieces you have to purchase?
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 10:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Check out http://www.apple.com/firewire/

Quote:
Originally posted by True_Orb
Do they come with the case or are they extra pieces you have to purchase?
Firewire some thing that you normally can get with your Mid Range to High End Motherboard.

Otherwise, you can purchase a PCI FIREWIRE CARD. Or there are some of the Creative Labs Auditgy II Cards.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 10:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

USB 2.0 is faster.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 03-09-2004, 10:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Guy
USB 2.0 is faster.
Explain?
__________________

__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.