what happened? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2005, 03:51 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

ok. what is your opinion on internet explorer 7.0?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 04:17 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I Hate all IE. Just use firefox, opera or Netscape.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:21 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 224
Send a message via AIM to The Kraut
Default

I love firefox, i havent gotton any spyware, adware and such since i got it. Firefox is much more customizable than IE and tabbed browsing is very convienent (sp?). Diabling active X also helped solve some of my problems.
__________________
Better sig coming soon.
The Kraut is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:44 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i just downloaded and used hijackthis
it changed my homepage to "about:blank"

here is the scan file:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 2:43:19 PM, on 12/9/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cisvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7DEBUG\MDM.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\tcpsvcs.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\snmp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\isafe.exe
C:\Documents and Settings\Matthew\Desktop\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

O23 - Service: CA ISafe (CAISafe) - Computer Associates International, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\isafe.exe
O23 - Service: FireDaemon Service: ecure (ecure) - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\Temp\FireDaemon.EXE (file missing)
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\1050\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: FireDaemon Service: svchost1 (svchost1) - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\Temp\FireDaemon.EXE (file missing)
O23 - Service: TrueVector Internet Monitor (vsmon) - Zone Labs, LLC - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:45 PM   #25 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

my system looks ok, thats because i just did a long virus scan..
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 06:20 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Why do you all think it is spyware/viruses? Did you check your screen properties for the screen saver? There is an option for it to take you to the login screen when you move the mouse when the screensaver is on, make sure that isn't selected.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 08:54 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

ok, done.

i should get firefox, and completely uninstall internet explorer.

Whats your opinion?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 08:56 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

You can't uninstall IE. It's a required part of the Windows OS. Just leave it alone.

Get Firefox as soon as you can. It's for the best.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 09:11 PM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

when you go to add/remove programs, and go to windows setup, you do it there

i could just set mozilla firefox as the main/default browser though, right?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 09:13 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

[quote]
Use Firefox. It's safer, and you have tabbed browsing. I'm so 'addicted' to the tabbed browsing feature, i downloaded Firefox on my school computer just to have it.
[quote]


how do you download on your school computers? at my school, i cant even run exe files..
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.