What is a good Raid 0 speed... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2005, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default What is a good Raid 0 speed...

I just set up a Raid 0 using 2 120gb Western Digital 7200 RPM HD's....i clocked them with a transfer rate of 81mb/s

Could anyone tell me if that is good or if they need some tweakin?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to mnemonicj
Default

Is this an onboard RAID controller or is it in a PCI slot? Also, where are you transferring it to? If you are transferring it to a single hard drive on the same computer then you aren't really measuring it correctly.
__________________

mnemonicj is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default

Its an onboard controller....

And if u go to www.pcpitstop.com and run the test on your whole computer u can get a speed reading on your hd's my 200 gb IDE is at like 45 mb/s and my raid set are at 81mb/s
__________________
AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to mnemonicj
Default

I got 63 MBps on my RAID 0. My setup is a PCI card with two 40GB Western Digital 2MB Cache drives. So it looks like your speed is pretty good.

If you want any faster, go SCSI.
mnemonicj is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 04:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

seems good
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 01:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Or go SATA w/ a pro. raid card. (which has been proven to be faster then SCSI).... However a nice raid card will cost you at least $500 for a descent one, and around $1500 for a really nice one.
potatohead is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 01:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by potatohead
Or go SATA w/ a pro. raid card. (which has been proven to be faster then SCSI).... However a nice raid card will cost you at least $500 for a descent one, and around $1500 for a really nice one.
Depens on the drives read/write speeds. With an unlimited budget I wouldn't even bother to get SATA. With unlimited cash SCSI is the way to go. SCSI drives can last very very long without failing.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 02:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Default

SCSI is an interface. It is true that in the past SCSI drive were the best . They also cost the most. Now it is debatable if they are the best, however they are still much more $$$.
potatohead is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 02:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

They are still the best. They are expensive for a reason.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-11-2005, 07:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to mnemonicj
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by potatohead
Or go SATA w/ a pro. raid card. (which has been proven to be faster then SCSI).... However a nice raid card will cost you at least $500 for a descent one, and around $1500 for a really nice one.
Doubt that since RAID card's speeds are limited by the PCI Bus. I have an old version of SCSI that is onboard that can do 160 MBps, and that is on ONE drive (no RAID involved).

SCSI is the best and anyone that thinks that SCSI is old, doesn't know anything about SCSI. SCSI has changed throughout the past 15 years and their speeds are unbeatable.
__________________

mnemonicj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.