What is dual channel memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2004, 12:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default What is dual channel memory?

What is dual channel memory exactly?

thx in advance!
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 12:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

it is where the memory controllor has two seperate pathways by which it can access main memory, giving potentially twice the bandwidth. the memory modules must be installed in pairs that are identical in both capacity and speed.
__________________

__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

It is something I dont have but I wish I did.

Chubz is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 01:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Does the mobo have to support it? I have a SOYO KT600 and was wondering if that board did:

SOYO "SY-KT600 DRAGON PLUS V1.0" KT600 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU

Model# SY-KT600DRAGON +V1.0
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 03:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to DyNaStY336
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wartorment
Does the mobo have to support it? I have a SOYO KT600 and was wondering if that board did:

SOYO "SY-KT600 DRAGON PLUS V1.0" KT600 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU

Model# SY-KT600DRAGON +V1.0
Yes, the motherboard does have to support it and No, your motherboard does not.
__________________
• Antec Super Lanboy case
• Asus P4SD-LA Mobo
• Intel P4 2.6GHz HT @ 3.11/960fsb
• 1.75GB PC2700 DDR Memory
• 120g HD
• Atapi CD-ROM
• HP DVD Writer 300n
• Creative SB Audigy2 NX
• Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
• PNY 6800 GT @ 408/1.1
• Logitech Dual Action Game Pad
• Windows XP Home
• Mag Innovision 19\" Lcd Monitor [no ghosts :)]
CSS: {TF}Dynasty336

http://img106.exs.cx/img106/7439/gamer5sj.jpg
DyNaStY336 is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 06:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Wow! Nevermind... I just found out that my AMD64 3200+ doesnt even need dual channel memory. It is fastest with out. lol.
ag3 is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 01:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DyNaStY336
Yes, the motherboard does have to support it and No, your motherboard does not.
Does it matter much?
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 04:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Duel channel only has a performance increase of 5 to 10%. The single channel bus speeds are already fast enough at this point in time.

I heard that all you need is a motherboard that supports Duel channel and two ram stick that have the same exact specs.

The althlon 64 754 socket processors do not support duel channel but the new 939 socket ones do.
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 11:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

U have to refer to the chipset of your mobo only u know wheter can support Dual channel or not.
Dual channel 2x256MB RAm faster than 768MB RAM.
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.