What does "ping" mean? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 09:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default What does "ping" mean?

In the online gaming world?

I dont play the big games or anything but like when im on yahoo pool if i press "ping" button it will say somthing like "opponants net delay0.32 seconds", "my net delay 0.8 seconds".

Can someone explain exactly what that means to me? and what is the point of being able to know this?
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

To 'ping' is to send a packet from one computer, to another, and then back to the original computer. Games will show your ping time to show the speed of your connection between the two.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 10:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Just to add, a higher ping means more lag, and it is measured in milli seconds.

Its not just games. You can ping other sites to see if they are connected.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
To 'ping' is to send a packet from one computer, to another, and then back to the original computer. Games will show your ping time to show the speed of your connection between the two.
yes, and just to make it a bit more clear, what the game measures is how long it takes between pinging the other computer and recieving a reply. you want it to be as small as possible.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

cheers guys.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-22-2006, 01:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default

To test my ping, I always ping it against yahoo or google or something in command prompt.

Go to command prompt and simply type "tracert www.yahoo.com" or any other site. "Tracert" stands for trace route.
__________________

__________________
There's no place like /home.
Jayce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.