What does it mean if a proccesor goes through post? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2005, 10:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default What does it mean if a proccesor goes through post?

That mean it shorts out or just doesn't work?
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It means that it gets past post (where it does the memory test.)
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 10:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

So does that mean it boots but doesn't run normal.
dario03 is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 11:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No that means it works normal

Getting past POST is good...
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 02:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

POST stands for Power On Self Test, it is a normal test when you boot your computer and the hardware devices test themselves to ensure they are functioning. It's normal
__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.