What does this mean? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 12:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default What does this mean?

I was reading a DIY Guide for PC building and this is one of the last things to do before powering up for the first time:

Check the AC voltage switch on your power supply before connecting it to the mains. Never assume that the power supply has been set correctly to operate in your local AC voltage. Always double check this item, or you could damage the entire system due to incorrect operating voltage. Once you've done that, connect the power cable from the mains to your power supply. Remember to turn on the power switch on your power supply (if there is one). Users often forget to flip the switch before attempting to power up.

What does this mean and how do I do it?
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well where do you live, and what power do you have (110 volts, 220 volts)

Power supply's are designed to work anywhere in the world, but you have to flick the switch on the back. Lets say, if your in Europe and you have it set to American electricity, you will fry your power supply. Flick the switch, and it will work.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

What power is standard in the U.S.?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

110 volts lol.
nuke is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Less painful than europe, which is 110
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to coolted
Default

check the switch on the back of your power supply
coolted is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 01:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

I have another question. I am building a PC and I bought 2 250 GB SATA hard drives, but I don't want them in Raid. Before I begin installing Windows, will I first need to prepare a floppy disk containing the drivers for the Silicon Image SATA RAID controller?

Do I skip this step in this guide ?
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.