What do you use to cool? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2005, 12:44 PM   #21 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

I have 6 case fans and a Coolermast Jet 4, it looks like a jet engine and even has a blinking white light for the airplane effect, cooling my cpu.
__________________

__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:04 PM   #22 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Antec P160

Thermaltake 120MM Led Blue Fan's in Front and Back

Custom Asetek Watercooling
- Triple 120MM Black Ice Pro Radiator
- Hydro L30 Pump
- 3x Thermaltake 120MM Led Blue Fan's ON Radiator
- Asetek Antartica CPU block
- 2X Asetek GPU Blocks for SLI
- Standard Asetek Radiator

This system is good for 1st Place in 3DMark03 and 05 for 6600GT's...

The Radiator isn't mounted in the case yet, im busy looking for a place that will laser cut me a nice grill..similar to a Aquacomputer Evo 360 Grill, Stainless Steel or Aluminum. mmm

I will post pics once it's done

All fans controlled by Coolermaster CoolDrive 4.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:39 PM   #23 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Performance and stability are two different things. Keeping it cool does NOT increase performance. A CPU at 2.5GHz and 50C isn't going to run any worse than a CPU at 2.5GHz and 10C, the 10C will obviously allow for higher overclocks.

ACTUALLY Nubius, if you REALLY want to get into it, keeping it cooler does increase performance. Mind it, probably a not noticable difference, but a differnce nonetheless.

What happens when electronic components get hot? They expand and their resistance level goes up, therefore reducing the amount of trafiic available to go through the component. Bu when it cools down and the component shrinks, it's resistance level goes down with it. Therefore allowing more traffic through.

not to be a jerk, but I did have to correct you. Nubi.
Him is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:43 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

oh snap
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:51 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I didn't know we were supposed to post pics, but then again we don't have a case forum. I wish it would work though

here is mine:





__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 02:10 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

i'm on Intel Stock Cooler, used Arctic Silver 5 instead. so mine remains at 38-45 C. and 1 case fan @ 1000 RPM. so this makes my system barely audible at 2 FT Distance.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 02:40 PM   #27 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 46
Default

How do i find out how hot my CPU is? Im pretty sure i only have my CPU fan and a large fan at the back with my power supply.
I don't over-clock or anything.
I have a Athlon 64 3200+ what temp should that be?

Is there anything else you really need to keep cool and how do you measure the heat of those?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939 pin)
Asus A8V deluxe
2x 512Mb PC3200 DDR Ram (400mhz)
64mb ddr ati radeon 8500le
80gb udma HD
Maxtor1touch 160gb ExtHD 7200rpm
Plextor 8x DVD+-RW
WinXP
mbwest is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 02:55 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Install the cd's that came with your motherboard.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 03:08 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

or you can download programs like motherboard monitor or SiSoft Sandra
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 03:42 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 46
Default

I did ask 3 questions and i got a pretty generic answer
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939 pin)
Asus A8V deluxe
2x 512Mb PC3200 DDR Ram (400mhz)
64mb ddr ati radeon 8500le
80gb udma HD
Maxtor1touch 160gb ExtHD 7200rpm
Plextor 8x DVD+-RW
WinXP
mbwest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.