what do you think of this setup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2005, 10:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default what do you think of this setup?

I'm planning on building a new computer, here's the parts, would appreciate any input you guys have.

ASUS "A7N8X-E Deluxe" nForce2 Ultra 400 Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU -RETAIL - http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-478&depa=0

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ "Barton", 400MHz FSB, 512K Cache Processor - Retail - http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...103-390&depa=1

CORSAIR XMS, Xtra-Low Latency 2-2-2-5, 184-Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200, Model CMX512-3200XL - Retail - http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...145-520&DEPA=1

A low price serial ATA drive, and other spare parts I have from this old computer.

This will be my first time building a computer, and want to plan for potential overclocking and high performance. What do you think?
__________________

iJeff is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 10:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 212
Send a message via AIM to jerry5739
Default

i bet most people would reccomend an amd 64 chipset....
__________________

__________________
AMD 2700+ @~2.3
ASRock K7Upgrade-880
Corsair Value Select 1024MB DDR400
Kingwin Muntant X Case
eVGA 6600 GT
Seagate 80 GB HD
Allied 420W PSU
jerry5739 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 11:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-502&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...136-152&DEPA=1

you'll need those instead of your AXP/asus setup
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 11:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

True, but I'm not on a high budget here. I guess a question is, is it worth it to spend the extra money on a 64 bit proc?

There's an XP 3200+ for 139, or a 64 3200+ for 190 that diabloII linked.

Also, the DFI mobo that diabloII also suggested is the same price as the ASUS mobo.

for 50 dollars, is it worth to upgrade to 64 bit? Also, has that DVI mobo gotten good reviews? I know at least the ASUS mobo was on maximum PC's top list for a bit.

Oh, also, that mobo has no AGP slots.. I'd need to buy a new PCI-E video card.. which will add quite a bit. My current vid card (I planned on recycling it until I saved up for a new one) is a radeon 9200 agp.
iJeff is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 11:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

it's DFI, not DVI

and the dfi is the best 64 bit board for overclocking and performance and has gotten good reviews

asus isn't reliable from what i've heard

and the upgrade is worth it, since you won't have to upgrade your motherboard again when you decide to upgrade your comp
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 11:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

The reviews on newegg suggest that the manual is subpar and that you'd need a 400 watt power supply at least.

How difficult might it be to set up this motherboard, and is PSU wattage that important? I've only got a 350 that came with the new case I bought.
iJeff is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 11:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by iJeff
How difficult might it be to set up this motherboard, and is PSU wattage that important? I've only got a 350 that came with the new case I bought.
you shouldn't be using any psu that comes with a case; they all suck and are unreliable (except antec ones)

you should buy a new psu even if the one that comes with the case is enough
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 12:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

I'm not sure i want to buy a PCI-E video card just yet -- can anyone suggest a nice 64 bit mobo that has an AGP slot?
iJeff is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 12:11 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-181&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-186&depa=1
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-01-2005, 12:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Alright, so I think i'm going to go with this mobo here: http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-181&depa=1

The ABIT "AV8" K8T800 Pro. Once I feel comfortable enough to overclock it, how much should I overclock it by at first? Is there a site that discusses safe overclocking ranges that people have found for certain proc/mobo combinations?
__________________

iJeff is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.