What do you think about eVGA's 6800? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 06:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default What do you think about eVGA's 6800?

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...130-208&DEPA=0

Refer the above link; I just saw eVGA's nVidia GeForce 6800 256MB 256bit video card on Newegg for $395. I was looking at Gigabyte's offering -

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...125-151&depa=1

- which was $435 but is now $459; it's been going up. Its heatsink/fan look a little better, and that's the video card I was looking at, but the eVGA looks pretty good.

Second question, now that you're here. A reviewer for the first card I linked, the eVGA one, said that he opened his AGP aperature to 256MB to use 512MB of RAM (256 on the video card, 256 from the system) to use Doom 3's 500MB textures to play on Ultra settings super-smooth. What kind of mobo lets you do this?

Thoughts?
__________________

Oceanb0rn is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 02:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Most mobo's will let you do that. Also the eVGA brand, imo is better than any other when it comes to video cards. The eVGA comes with a burly heatsink itself (good enough for an ultra), so it can be easily overclocked to ultra speeds and beyond. Plus it is cheaper and comes with DOOM3!
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

I thought you said it was a 6800 not a 6800 GT. Btw, that's a great card I have the exact one and I've oc'ed it to beyond ultra speeds.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Oh, cool, so it's a good card. I'm thinking that, an AMD64 3400+ or 3500+ and 1GB of DDR400 (PC3200) RAM (total of 4GB of the same eventually), and a few other things will make for a nice computer. First time building a computer but I've got a couple Maximum PC's and they make it sound simple enough if you apply a little common sense (and don't do something stupid like get an Intel Pentium chip and an AMD motherboard or a PCI-X card for an AGP mobo.
__________________

My computer:

AMD Athlon64 3200+ S939
1024MB Dual Channel DDR400 Corsair XMS with LED activity indicators
256MB GeForce 6600 PCI-E by Chaintech
Aspire X-Navigator case with 500W PSU, 6x80mm fans, 1x120mm fan
Gigabyte nForce4/PCI-E S939 mobo
80GB 7200MB 8MB WD IDE HDD
16X DVD±R Dual Layer burner
Memory card read/writer
...and a Led Zeppelin sticker!
Oceanb0rn is offline  
Old 12-16-2004, 12:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default

I would say the eVGA and you dont need that much ram. If you pln on getting alot of ram then get 2gig(2x1gig) pc3200 Corsair or OCZ. Its redicoulus to have that much ram on a single mobo. And most all mobos let you use 256mb Aperature all ranging from the socket A mobos. So basically anything you get will allow you to do that.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 02:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 79
Default

I've heard a lot of good things about Corsair and Crucial, and really mixed things about OCZ. I've seen them in the mags, but a couple people I talked to IRL didn't like them at all.

One of the main chips I'm looking at [Link-Newegg.com] is Socket 939. I can't seem to search Newegg.com by "Socket A" properly, but isn't that old? I thought 939 was the latest AMD and that LGA775 thing the latest for Intel?

No, I don't need that much RAM, I was just figuring I'd start with 1-2 and put more if the system got taxed. I want to get into video editing type stuff, and I know when a computer has to render something, it taxes the RAM, especially when you're working with higher bitrates.
__________________

__________________

My computer:

AMD Athlon64 3200+ S939
1024MB Dual Channel DDR400 Corsair XMS with LED activity indicators
256MB GeForce 6600 PCI-E by Chaintech
Aspire X-Navigator case with 500W PSU, 6x80mm fans, 1x120mm fan
Gigabyte nForce4/PCI-E S939 mobo
80GB 7200MB 8MB WD IDE HDD
16X DVD±R Dual Layer burner
Memory card read/writer
...and a Led Zeppelin sticker!
Oceanb0rn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.