what do you need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2005, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default what do you need?

what do you need in order to program something? do you need a special program or something? i know you need expierience but what else other than that do you need?
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 05:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

u need to know C/C++,sql, it depends on what u are looking to program
__________________

contry is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 05:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah and a program like microsoft visual studio

A few spare mice, a spare monitor (these are for when the program doesnt do what it should) and a good sense of anger.

Use CRT's as they dont break as easy

If you go into the programming section their's some good crap

You can tell how much I like programming
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 05:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

1) You need a compiler to compile your code to native code - used with languages such as C/C++
OR
2) You need a platform such as the Java runtime environment

C/C++ is faster but is heavily machine dependent, where as languages such as Java typically "compile" the program into a machine independent format called bytecode - which can be "interpreted" by a Java virtual machine.

It's usually good to be familiar with these 2 languages, specially C/C++. After that you can learn any language u want with ease. I wouldn't waste time learning crap languages that you would never use.

The environment of the compiler can be command line or a GUI IDE. I usually code in vim (unix vi variant) and compile command line.
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 06:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

what is better to know, C# or C++.

also, what can you do with each of them?
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 06:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

It is better to know C/C++. This is the most powerful language available other than assembly language itself. Programming in assembly is a *****, let me tell you :-\.. But, anything you can do in assembly, you can do it C/C++ - even if it's a little bit slower.

For limitations of C# and how it is different from C/C++, please see:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C-sharp

The most important point is probably that C# runs on the .NET framework. If you have any questions after reading this article, post away!
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 01:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 198
Default

i recommend u this compiler to start learning C++
http://www.bloodshed.net/devcpp.html
start doing some tutorials, reading, just practice a lot then u can move to a better compiler as turbo C++ good luck and have a lot of patience, learn from ur mistakes and have fun
contry is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Well, if you want to know what you need for hardware to do some programming, because you are posting in the Hardware Zone, then your computer that you have now will do just fine for programming. A nice keyboard usually helps too. :/
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 04:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default

im takin computer science in school and visual basic seems pretty straightforward
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.