What to do with a QUAD. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2008, 07:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default What to do with a QUAD.

Say i was to go out and buy a system with a 2.4ghz Q6600 Quad core, 4gigs ram, a $70-80 Asus Motherboard and i have an internet connection of about 8mbps, how could i make a PROFIT on it. I mean, game server wise, loaning out to people to use for rendering, etc etc.

What would be a good business to create around it.
BTW: I want to stear clear of webhosting, and storage purposes.

The PC will cost about $400 AUD, so ill be wanted to recoup loses from the PC's purchase. Thanks to anyone who helps.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 07:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Default Re: What to do with a QUAD.

You could run a 14 slot css server and make ~$50 a month and break even in 8 months you could maybe get away with running 2 if you overclock to 3ghz and set each server 2 cores each.
__________________

sum_guy55 is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 10:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: What to do with a QUAD.

dude server would rely more on your dl/ul speeds...not the processor :| so you might get away with 10-15 people on your connections...but remember, you would have to keep it running 24/7...so that would take away personal use
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 11:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: What to do with a QUAD.

Yeah, for a server you would really need a good upload speed of at least 5mb upload, or even a 20mb upload if FiOS is available near you. I have the FiOS 20mb download/5mb upload and I rock when hosting XBL games, so I'm sure it could handle a CS:S server.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 12:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: What to do with a QUAD.

You could fold and make monopoly money

Some kind of gaming serve seems like the thing to do :/... although like it's been said already, your dl/upload speed is whats going to limit you.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 01:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: What to do with a QUAD.

Yeah having a 8mb line will get you no where. You upload speeds still stink and gamers would be lucky to get a 200 latency with that connection. Espically if you have multiple game servers hosted on that PC. Then it would climb even higher. You could reach as much as 500 or more in latency.

There is no way to make a profit with it online. Not by trying to use domestic hosting. You would need to get a business hosting plan and even then you still wouldnt break even for at least the first year.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 03:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: What to do with a QUAD.

Best way is to use it to make a resume, and then email that resume out. And get a real job so you can afford to spend money on a hobby.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 05:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: What to do with a QUAD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Best way is to use it to make a resume, and then email that resume out. And get a real job so you can afford to spend money on a hobby.
If it wasn't for that fact that you are VeeDubFreak and you used a smiley i probably would have responded poorly to that comment. But anyway...

What about renting time out for rendering? I may buy a Dual Slot motherboard with one CPU and once things pick up, add another cpu.

Anyone heard of renting out a server for 3dsmax, maya, etc rendering?
zedman3d is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 09:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: What to do with a QUAD.

No, but that sounds like a better idea.
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 06:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: What to do with a QUAD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drizzt5 View Post
No, but that sounds like a better idea.
There seems to be some business's that do it as Google shows:

rent server rendering - Google Search
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD and Havok to Optimize Physics for Gaming Wildside Polls 5 06-13-2008 10:57 PM
AMD Quad FX Worklog/Review NosBoost300 Overclocking and Modding 127 05-05-2008 09:31 PM
AMD or Intel Quad cores? 35g700 New Systems | Building and Buying 52 05-05-2008 03:06 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.