What to do with new mobo? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2005, 02:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 86
Default What to do with new mobo?

A little while ago my PSU burned out all the red cables going to the mobo, and after trying to solder it on I've decided to just buy completely new parts.

In a couple days this mobo will be at my front step. This is the first time I have ever put in a new mobo (or anything) in a computer so I was wondering what exactly do I have to do. I know how to connect the PSU, RAM, processor, mobo to the case, etc but how do I configure it and stuff?

I will be using the mobo with anAthlon 64 3000+ and Leadtek 6600GT. Along with my current hard drive (seagate barracuda) that (hopefully) still has all my stuff and windows XP on it.

man these peas ROCK!
Kray is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 03:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134

you just need to replace the mobo, and then plug everything in to the new mobo *correctly*

then you have the sort out the bios and stuff, but i dont know anything about that.

anyone else?

joshd is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

he wants to know *how* to put it in though

this site has a tutorial on PC building.
building a PC is actualy pretty straight forward. you just need to know a few things.
if you put something in the wrong spot, 99% of the time it will not actually damage the part, it just won't work until you put it in properly
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 04:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

it should pretty much be a matter of plugging it all in and turning it on. bios will detect memory etc and you should at least be able to boot without really having to do anything. after that though you will probably have to go through the bios and tweak individual settings. as for using the exact same hdd, that may not work at least not with windows xp. win95/98 were simple in that regard but windows xp will probably reject the new system but you will still have all your files on the drive.
Visit my website - nitestick.net
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-26-2005, 12:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 86

...So what can I do to keep the same HD but with new mobo, etc.?
man these peas ROCK!
Kray is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.