What do i need to upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default What do i need to upgrade?

I have a Dell Dimension 4600 w/ a P4@2.4Ghz, 512 Mb RAM, 80 Gb HD, and a nVidia GeForce 5200 FX gfx card running M$ Windows XP SP2. I run software like photoshop, 3ds max, Guild Wars, Halo, UT2K4, and other editing programs/games. My computer isnt really slow at running these, but id like them to be a little more fast/efficient w/ them. Which hardware should I upgrade first to receive the best performance increase(within a reasonable price range)?
__________________

gamer_013 is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Hmmm... Photoshop is CPU intensive, while your games need a better graphics card.

My suggestion would be to go for a better vid card, and possibly a new PSU (Dell brand, of course, since an off-the-shelf one won't work with a Dell mobo).

A new CPU would be cheaper, however. I don't know the stats for your computer, but I figure that it is a socket 478. So it would depend on what FSB your mobo could handle. If it is 533, then you can go up to a 2.8 for $165. If it can hit 800, then you can go to 3.4E for $288.

Prices from NewEgg.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 09:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

well you could try reinstalling xp and seeing what that will do for you speed wise. i would also buy another 512mb of ram. then see how things go from there.
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 10:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Well, i would like a new CPU but what kind of difference would 400/1000 MHz make, and would it really be worth another $165/$288?(i only have around $300 to spend right now) And i was thinking about purchasing another 512 Mb of RAM; how do i find out which kind my motherboard supports?
gamer_013 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 10:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7
Default RAM help

I found out what type of RAM i need w/ CPU-Z(pic shows specs). Does it matter if its DIMM? Because i was wondering if this would work: http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_g...12MB+DDR+SDRAM I want another 512MB thats around $40-60.

I have 4 slots, my current RAM are in slots 1 and 3.
gamer_013 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.