What do I need to go wireless? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2003, 10:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Default What do I need to go wireless?

I'm networking stupid, could someone please tell me what I need to buy? I have a cable modem and a laptop. I would like to be able to use the laptop anywhere in the house. I'm assuming I need to buy some kind of wireless hub or router.

I've been looking at CompUSA(only because I have a credit card there and I just want to order it online and be done with it), but I have no idea what to get. Once I buy a wireless hub or router, do I also need to buy some kind of wireless PC card to go with it...or do the hubs/routers come with one?

All I'm looking for is something that I can plug the cable modem into that will have a wirless connection with my laptop, and I'm assuming that I need some kind of PC card that will interact with that device.

Some time in the future, I'm getting a desktop that I'll also want to connect to it.

What do you reccomend? What's the cheapest? Do I need a hub or router?
__________________

tdomil is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

In my opinion, the two brands you should look into are Linksys and Netgear. These wireless routers are the easiest to configure and the manuals are very well written. The routers themselves are very intuative so the user does almost no work at all. The BEST thing for you to do is to look into a wireless router that comes with a wireless PCMCIA card for a laptop. Make sure that you look at "802.11b" as this is fine for what you are looking for....

The package for the router/wireless card combo should be around $100 or so (More like $120 for CompUSA). The router that you get will also have ports so that you can connect a Desktop PC with a cabled network card later on. You could also install another wireless NIC on the computer as well though.

Hope this helps...

-Michael
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Default

Yes, thankyou!
So is something like this what I should buy?
http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...523&pfp=BROWSE
tdomil is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 11:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I use the Linksys WRt54G Router with 2 WUSB11 Adaptors for my additional 2 PC's. I just plug my PC directly into the Router with a standard RJ45 Cable. You'll need the PCMCIA card for your laptop. But it's basically Plug & Play. The Laptop part is WPC54G & That's Wireless. Try Linksys Website. http://www.linksys.com/
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 03:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

you cant go wrong with Linksys..im a big fan.
ADZ is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 03:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Linksys is good.

Things to look out for...

Does your laptop have Wi-Fi built in? If so, make sure that you get a compatable router. Some laptops have built in 802.11b, some 802.11c, etc.

Some of these standards are reverse compatable, some are not (like the centrino POC's). Also, make sure that the router is also a hub. Most are. I have a MS (not by choice) wilreless router and it works. It just has a crappy range.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 03:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

I use a D-link router and am quite happy with it. It has external antenna jacks that are great for extending your range. If you attach a high gain antenna you can cover like 1/4 mile, but then if you don't use WEP's you pretty much give everyone in the neighborhood free wireless.
Inaris is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 05:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

i have a linksys wireless router set up directly to my dsl modems. and in the router settings i set it to PPPoE and then put in my dsl password and username so i am connected all the time. then each of the desktops has a PCI wirless card in it. i beleive they have the U.S. Robotics 22mbps cards. then the laptop has a 22mbps card also. on the back of the router it has the ethernet port for the modem to plug into, then has 4 other ports for computers/games/whatever. the router was about 80 dollars and the pci cards were 50 a peice and the laptop pc card was 40 i think.
Erik is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 10:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

tdomil.....the link you posted looks like a winner...

-Michael
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.