What to do with 2 extra unused PC's? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2008, 01:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: What to do with 2 extra unused PC's?

yeah I don't know why they are selling those "home servers" with windows home server. I think it is a complete joke since an old pc will do the trick in most cases with a few simple cheap addons. Like right now I have a server that I made from an old p1 200MHZ with a nlite version of windows xp that is so stripped down that it only takes up around 300mb with a 120GB HDD. I tried putting a bigger one in but it only showed 137GB so it wasn't worth it
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 08-24-2008, 07:57 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: What to do with 2 extra unused PC's?

Linux box an a small server.
__________________

__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 04:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to Mach1threat
Default Re: What to do with 2 extra unused PC's?

Oh yeah, I forgot that I had a 6600GT in the first computer, I dont know why I forgot about that. Found someone to buy it though, Im sure F@H uses more CPU than GPU
Mach1threat is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 05:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: What to do with 2 extra unused PC's?

Install F@H, Hide all related files, disable Task manager, AND Then sell it..



Hopefully the ones you sell it to will never figure it out.
Ste is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 07:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manchester, england
Posts: 651
Default Re: What to do with 2 extra unused PC's?

lol at that ste, thats a good idea ;p
lukas is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 08:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: What to do with 2 extra unused PC's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Install F@H, Hide all related files, disable Task manager, AND Then sell it..



Hopefully the ones you sell it to will never figure it out.
isn't folding at home good about only using resources that aren't being used? if so, i see no issue with doing that :P lol
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 09:35 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: What to do with 2 extra unused PC's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mach1threat View Post
Oh yeah, I forgot that I had a 6600GT in the first computer, I dont know why I forgot about that. Found someone to buy it though, Im sure F@H uses more CPU than GPU
The fastest F@H clients are the gpu clients:
Nvidia GPUs responsible for 42% of Folding@home output

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Install F@H, Hide all related files, disable Task manager, AND Then sell it..



Hopefully the ones you sell it to will never figure it out.
meh, it would get like 200ppd at the most.


Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
isn't folding at home good about only using resources that aren't being used? if so, i see no issue with doing that :P lol

Yeah but the systems are just too slow.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new log 05/13 generalaxes HijackThis Logs (finished) 26 06-05-2008 09:43 PM
Browser keeps getting hijacked please help Shadow Rider HijackThis Logs (finished) 4 05-12-2008 10:44 AM
PC keeps shutting down - HijackThis log ... rapidex HijackThis Logs (finished) 8 12-28-2007 08:43 PM
Hijackthis Log Part 1 chublake HijackThis Logs (finished) 13 11-02-2007 08:14 AM
Hijackthis Log Part2 chublake HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 10-30-2007 11:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.