What is the difference between these chipsets? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2004, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default What is the difference between these chipsets?

VIA K8T800 Pro + VT8237

and

nForce 3

Does one make the motherboard faster? (AMD mbs)
__________________

persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I think that the VIA one is just a motherboard chipset and the NForce is a video card chipset. Correct me if I am wrong.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 02:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

No, I'm pretty sure they are both motherboard chipsets.
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 02:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 414
Default

They are both motherboard chipsets.
nforce 3 is a chipset made by nvidia which also makes graphics cards.

As for which ones faster i would have to say its the nforce 3 chipset but im not really sure on this.
__________________
<center>

<a href=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/inbound.php?user=Neosteve\' title=\'Get Fused!\'>
<img src=\'http://fusion.vault9.net/code/468x60.jpg\' alt=\'\' style=\"border:0;\" /></a>
</center>
neosteve is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 02:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

OK, sorry for the confusion on my part

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 02:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 451
Default

no one has answered the question of which one is better. or does it matter?
persianxballer is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 02:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Personally, I like Via better just because the only chipsets I've ever used have been Via chipsets.

-Dan The Man
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.