What is the difference between these 2? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2004, 02:52 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

i suggest you get either the card made by ATI or nVidia . . .

at least if something goes wrong, you know its ATI or nVidia, not another manufacturer
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 02:54 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

true, those are the biggest manufactures i hear about to.
__________________

compy is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 06:35 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 171
Default

yea but, a manufacturers warrenty is just as good as one from nVidia or ATI. I have an MSI FX5900 and has stupidly fast RAM and the most copper I have ever seen on a video card for its cooling. This allows me to get up to 495/990 speeds without breaking a sweat. I doubt the reference coolers would let you do that.
__________________
<center>
Pentium 4 2.8 with M0 stepping.
Only air cooling tho
<br>
<a href=\"http://www.extreme64.com\"><b>Extreme64.com</b></a>
<br>
<a href=\"http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=1152343400\">Aquamark03</a></center>
domwells is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 08:32 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 49
Default

you can only get pure ATI cards, but not pure NVIDIA as NVIDIA only makes chipsets, they do not make cards.
__________________
- Intel 2.8E @ 3.36GHz
- Asus P4P800-E DLX
- 4X512MB (2Gig) Crucial PC3200
- ATI 9600 All-In-Wonder
- RAID card for extra IDE channels
- 120G Western Digital SATA for Windows
- 120G IDE Western Digital Hard Drive
- 80G IDE Maxtor Hard Drive
- Pioneer 107D DVD burner
- LG CDRW/DVD Combo
- Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
- Logitech Z680 speakers
- Thermaltake Xavier II Full Tower
- Thermaltake PurePower 480W ps
- Logitech MX Duo combo wireless keyboard/mouse
- Sharp 17\" LCD monitor
c_ro11 is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 09:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

c_ro11, what is your CPU and MOBO temp with and without OC if you don't mind me asking? I am running a 3.0E and my CPU is around 53C, which is starting to worry me. Did you use the stockfan for CPU? Thanks
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 09:51 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 49
Default

I'm actually using an Arkua Heat Pipe with is a normal heatsink and fan, but with a radior type of pipe going threw the heat sink. OC'd at 3.36GHz my computer idles at about 49C and my mobo's temp is quit low (25C I beleive). And when I really stress it, it goes to about 55C and 27C. I used to own an OC'd AMD 3000+, so anything lower then 60C looks good to me! lol!
__________________
- Intel 2.8E @ 3.36GHz
- Asus P4P800-E DLX
- 4X512MB (2Gig) Crucial PC3200
- ATI 9600 All-In-Wonder
- RAID card for extra IDE channels
- 120G Western Digital SATA for Windows
- 120G IDE Western Digital Hard Drive
- 80G IDE Maxtor Hard Drive
- Pioneer 107D DVD burner
- LG CDRW/DVD Combo
- Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
- Logitech Z680 speakers
- Thermaltake Xavier II Full Tower
- Thermaltake PurePower 480W ps
- Logitech MX Duo combo wireless keyboard/mouse
- Sharp 17\" LCD monitor
c_ro11 is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 03:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

oh so nVdia only makes chip sets for the vid cards...wow, i did not know that.
__________________

compy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.