What in the Dell do they use? :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2004, 08:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default What in the Dell do they use? :)

My roommate last year had a Dell Dimension 2400 computer, and he would play games that my emachines couldn't handle, hahaha. Anyway, he was playing Call of Duty, and Medal of Honor and other stuff like that, but we couldn't figure out what kind of video card he had. What video cards does Dell use? The games didn't look that bad, granted it wasn't on the highest settings or anything, but still, no lag.
__________________

PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 08:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

let me know both of ur specs:

Dell is not speciality, though whats inside does matters. let me know the internal things (or ur model at least), i can find about dell 2400 in a minute.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 08:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

dell dimenion is on intel extreme (can share upto 64MB memory) intel though isnt in the main stream graphic market, but systems with inetgrated graphic show at least results good.

whats the model of ur eMachines?

at least I can gaurantee, that manufacturers seldom bring any difference (as if on same hardware)
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I don't know the exact model numbers, but here are the specs that I can remember:

Dell: Intel Pentium 4 2.2 GHz, 256 MB RAM, 40 GB hard drive

Emachines: Intel Celeron 1.7 MHz, 256 MB RAM, 40 GB hard drive

I'll try to see if I can dig up the model numbers.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 08:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

u see pentium, SSE2 Integer and L2 = 512K cache extra.

Celeron gives up too early. you'll fel like celeron got tired after some work.

though as graphic peformance is concerned, motherboard chipset does matters sa well, dell is with intel, your might be with SiS or Via
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 08:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

The Dell was model number d24rs emachines was model number T1740. I looked at their specs and couldn't find anything about video cards.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 09:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

dell' s 2400 series came with Intel Integrated 64MB shared memory VGA card. on Intel 845 chipset.

lemme have a look on urs model. and will write the difference in few mins
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 09:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

eMachines T1740 came with same chipset Intel 845GV, and here is the board used in eMachines T1740 is manufactured by FIC model VC37

here is the Mobo link

FIC VC37

Dell was on Pentium-4, as wll the manufactuirer of the motherboard does matters on performance.

hope u got the idea.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 09:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

The basic point is just dont go for stock computers for games, they are no good. Unless its an Alienware or a Falcon Northwest. Dell and eMachines what you to keep coming back and buying their stuff so they wont make it nearly as good as what you would get to put together.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 09:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I realize it's a budget card, but will my new GeForce FX 5200 perform at least on par with those machines?
__________________

PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.