What is the deal with the Aegia Physics Card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2006, 02:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 156
Question What is the deal with the Aegia Physics Card?

Hey just was looking around the net and found out about that Aegia (Whatever and however you spell it, i got no idea.) Card interesting idea, when you thought you couldn't be leached for anymore money.BAM!, POW!, ZAPP!!! Buy our CARD.... Well unless it actually helps me figure out the trajectories i need to throw my old crud bucket of a dang computer out of a moving vehicle or skyscrapper to get the best smash possible, i'm not sold on it.

Yessh, i already have enough trouble just trying to keep enough to upgrade every so often. Anyway, now i'm just rambling like some old-timer in a daze on springs day on a park bench watching the ducks fight over scraps of crusty old bread i had in kitchen for about 2 weeks. Did, i ever tell you about the time i fought in world war 2, well........ (Drops suddenly asleep drooling.)

(Waking up again suddenly) Where was i? Oh, yeah well if anybody has anything to say about this topic go for cos i wanna learn more about it but well, i'm lazy so why doesn't everyone tell me about.

Yours Sincerely
Grandpa Joe:beard:
__________________

__________________
There are only Two things in life i regret doing... 1. Selling my Soul for Cash.... 2. Buying a Compaq.... I should have kept the Cash, huh.
wedge_00 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 03:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Right now the Ageia cards are there but the software support and games for it are not. Untill more games come out that actually utilize it like Ageia's tech demos I too am not sold. Games like GR:AW support it but they only just add some extra eye candy and absolutly no gameplay with the insane physics capibility with these cards.

Although I'm sure once UT07 and other UE 3.0 games come out the card will have more support. If they start to put them on video cards that would be great, but I don't think we will be seeing things like that anytime soon. Games like Cellfactor are what Ageia needs, they need killer apps that make it the "must-have" hardware. But creating games that need accelerated physics hardware will be very hard to sell to the masses, no one want to pay 300 bucks to play that game.
__________________

Waphlez is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Here's an article for you...

http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/06/19/can_ageia/
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 03:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Default

hah i saw this thing in PC Gamer and i was like "why would you ever buy this thing right now..."
dayofdefeat909 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 05:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dayofdefeat909
hah i saw this thing in PC Gamer and i was like "why would you ever buy this thing right now..."
Yea they gave the BFG PhysX card 54%, ouch.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 10:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default

DOn't these new cards use the PCI slots only? Maybe I'm getting this confused with another technology...
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 10:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 456
Send a message via AIM to meefle
Default

Or you could wait till Nvidia and ATI put Aegia out of business since their way can provide better performance (in less Aegia comes out with something new). Both VGA companies are goin for the 3 PCI-E slots, 2 slots for CF/SLI and one for physics. Idk much about nvidia, but for ATI, you would probably use a X1600.. for physics. There was an article somewhere sayin that its like 2-4x faster than the Aegia and a X1900XT(X maybe) is like 8-10x faster.
__________________
*Opteron 165 1.8Ghz
*DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D
*HIS Hightech X1900XT 512MB w/ Zalman VF900 (Core: 690Mhz, Mem: 1500Mhz)
*G.Skill 1GB DDR 400
*Kingwin Mutant X Series
*HP IDE Lightscribe DVD Burner
*Seagate Barracuda 80GB SATA II
*Maxtor 80GB IDE
*OCZ Gamexstream 600W PSU
meefle is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 12:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
DOn't these new cards use the PCI slots only? Maybe I'm getting this confused with another technology...
They are using PCI-E. The physics card was supposed to come in either PCI-E 1x or 4x flavors.

But yeah, it'll take a while for it to be really implemented.

Quote:
But creating games that need accelerated physics hardware will be very hard to sell to the masses, no one want to pay 300 bucks to play that game.
I'm sure if they did it, they wouldn't make a game that was only playable with physx card. If they are smart, and I'm pretty sure they'll do this, it'll simply detect your physx card and there be an option to turn on the high end physx. Infact, I think that GRAW does have something like that in its options.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 04:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

they're currently pretty useless, because of lack of software support.
wait at least a year for some support of these cards to come out, and maybe a half year after that for it to mature a bit
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.