What the crap is causing this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 05:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default What the crap is causing this?

Last night my comp was working completely fine, I played CS:S all night and everything. However, today I turned my computer on, and the display is screwed up. On the Settings tab, the computer won't let me go past 800x600 resolution, or go any higher than 4 bit color. The screen looks like complete crap, and I've already tried lowering the hardware acceleration and re-installing the drivers. Any other ideas?
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 05:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

You obviously aren't in safe mode, eh?

What version of ForceWare do you have?
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I'm not in safe mode, and I have the 77.72.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 05:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Could it perhaps be a virus?
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 05:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

That's the only thing I can figure, I'm going to virus scan right now.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 06:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Alright I just performed a virus scan and found nothing. I have no clue what would be causing this problem.

:::EDIT::: Ok this is strange. I can go and decrease the hardware acceleration, and then the screen appears fine. However, the only available resolution is 1024x768 with Highest (32 bit) color quality. This seems ok, but when I restart, the computer reverts back to 800x600 resolution with 4 bit coloring. The weirdest part out of all of this is that I played games all night last night fine.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 06:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Is tihs video card heavily oc'd? I would pull the card and try to set it up in another puter and see what happens to the display settings from nivdia. If the card is okay, completely uninstall the nvidia drivers: completely clean up the registry and reload the video drives. The worst case scenario and the easiest is to back up your data, reformat the hd and reinstall your os.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 07:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

you may have burnt out your video card.
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Ok, I reformatted and the screen looked fine when windows came up for the first time. Everything was normal. But when I installed the 71.89 drivers, the screen went back to the same old crap as before. It's like the drivers corrupted the computer or something. I don't think the video card is burned out since it looked fine before I installed the drivers. Does anyone else have anything?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 08:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Did you overclock the video card at all?
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.