What CPU do I have? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2004, 09:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default What CPU do I have?

Well at first I thought it was an athlon xp 1600+ palomino, but now when I run aida32 I get this:

--------[ AIDA32 (c) 1995-2004 Tamas Miklos ]---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Version AIDA32 v3.93
Author tamas.miklos@aida32.hu
Homepage http://www.aida32.hu
Report Type Quick Report
Computer LAZERMAN
Generator Administrator
Operating System Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional 5.0.2195 (Win2000 Retail)
Date 2004-09-05
Time 19:59


--------[ CPU ]---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CPU Properties:
CPU Type AMD Athlon-PECM, 1533 MHz (5.75 x 267)
CPU Alias Thunderbird
CPU Stepping A9
L1 Code Cache 64 KB
L1 Data Cache 64 KB
L2 Cache 256 KB (On-Die, Full-Speed)

CPU Physical Info:
Package Type 453 Pin PGA / 242 Contact Slot A Cartridge
Package Size 4.95 cm x 4.95 cm / 13.99 cm x 6.27 cm x 1.64 cm
Transistors 37 million
Process Technology 6Mi, 0.18 um, CMOS
Die Size 120 mm2
Core Voltage 1.75 V
I/O Voltage 1.6 V
Typical Power 34 - 65 W (depending on clock speed)
Maximum Power 38 - 72 W (depending on clock speed)

CPU Manufacturer:
Company Name Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Product Information http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...30_118,00.html

CPU Utilization:
CPU #1 1 %
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Now it is overclocked to 133x11.5 right now and it is stable, but would that change anything?
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

why would you do that? higher FSB gives a better performance boost than increasing the multiplier
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Because if I go any higher in fsb it get less stable and my memory only supports 266 fsb (pc2100). If anything I'm going to lower my fsb and go higher with the multiplier.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

i would set it back to 5.75 x 267 because 133x11.5 gives you less CPU speed
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

After running alot of programs like that you will notice they say different than what your actual CPU clock speed is. This is because AMD and Intel do there best to reach the labeled speed but if it's only a few MHz off, they simply round it to the nearest 100MHzth. Another thing to take note of is the "1600+", this is a P-Rating which only explanes its performance compared to an Intel based CPU. AMD uses this so their chips don't look slower than Intel's although their clock speeds are lower than the P-Rating. If your OCing the chip and have changed the multiplyer, you will notice a variation in standard speeds as stated when running a benchmarking product. Hope that explaines it.
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 383
Default

maybe its time to build a new pc?
SNiPeRViRuS is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Me? lol I just finished building this yesterday. And crazybeans, I guess I don't get what you are saying.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

And this hasn't answered my question, I still don't know what cpu I have.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 09:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Post

Sorry about that, I was telling you about the P-Rating and forgot to mention what yours was. You have an AMD Athlon XP 1800+ that runs at 1533MHz with a 5.75 multiplier. Your processor has a L2 cache of 256Kb running at 1533MHz and a voltage of either 1.5 or 1.6 volts. Your CPU uses 0.13 micron technology and has 37.2M transistors.

Does that answer your question?
__________________

__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.